Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Want It Wednesday!



Still Alice
by Lisa Genova

Plot
Genova gives us a hauntingly accurate portrayal of a young woman's descent into Alzheimer's Disease from the prime of life and the loftiest of cerebral heights.










Marked (House of Night Series #1)

by P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast

Plot
In this first book of a new series, 16-year-old Zoey Redbird enters the House of Night, a school where she will train to become an adult vampyre. Zoey finds she is no average fledgling. She has been marked by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx. But she is not the only fledgling with special powers.

Monday, July 27, 2009

So Memorable...


Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist
by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Character: Nick

Quote: "I know this is going to sound strange, but would you mind being my girlfriend for the next five minutes?"


Song Cry: How Fucking Romantic by The Magnetic Fields

In My Mailbox! (6)

Sticky Fingers
by Niki Burnham

Plot
Bulletproof, that's how Jenna Kassarian sees herself. It's all about control: As long as she works hard, nothing can hurt her. So Jenna constantly pushes — for perfect grades, the ideal boyfriend, the best, best friend.


The only problem is, she doesn't know if she can stop. If she relaxes even for a second, she's afraid she'll lose control completely.

Then Jenna decides it's now or never. She goes to a party and has one drink. But one drink is all it takes for her perfect facade to shatter. Suddenly she realizes straight A's can't protect you in the real world.





Living Dead Girl
by Elizabeth Scott

Plot
"Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared.

Once upon a time, my name was not Alice.
Once upon a time, I didn't know how lucky I was."

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends - her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.

Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.

This is Alice's story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.




Cruel Summer
by Alyson Noel

Plot
Seventeen-year-old Colby Cavendish's plans are tossed overboard when her parents decide she should spend the summer with her aunt on a remote Greek island. They are jeopardizing her hard-won spot as ultracool Amanda's "new best friend," and now that she's hooked up with hottie Levi Bonham, how is she supposed to hang on to him? Crazy Aunt Tally, who talks to her plants and sells handmade jewelry, doesn't have a cell phone, TV, or Internet access. Colby's feelings and experiences are relayed through clever, but sometimes typographically confusing, emails, journal entries, letters, postcards, and a "Cruel Summer" blog.

Saturday, July 25, 2009

What Should I Read Next?



Ive been in California for about a week now and i've only bought four books, luckily at home, i have three more books waiting for me! I feel like i havent really been reading and blogging as much as i could be but hopefully i can pick up the pace a little bit more in the next couple of days! The four books ive bought are The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti, Along for the Ride and Just Listen by Sarah Dessen and Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler! On the top left hand corner of my blog i've created another little poll for you so you can decide which book you want me to read and review next!

Here's a summary of each book-


The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti

I am not my illness. "Girl with Anxiety," "Trauma of the Week" -- no. I hate stuff like that. Everyone, everyone has their issue. But the one thing my illness did make me realize is how necessary it is to ignore the dangers of living in order to live. And how much trouble you can get into if you can't.


Jade DeLuna is too young to die. She knows this, and yet she can't quite believe it, especially when the terrifying thoughts, loss of breath, and dizzy feelings come. Since being diagnosed with Panic Disorder, she's trying her best to stay calm, and visiting the elephants at the nearby zoo seems to help. That's why Jade keeps the live zoo webcam on in her room, and that's where she first sees the boy in the red jacket. A boy who stops to watch the elephants. A boy carrying a baby.

His name is Sebastian, and he is raising his son alone. Jade is drawn into Sebastian's cozy life with his son and his activist grandmother on their Seattle houseboat, and before she knows it, she's in love. With this boy who has lived through harder times than anyone she knows. This boy with a past.

Jade knows the situation is beyond complicated, but she hasn't felt this safe in a long time. She owes it all to Sebastian, her boy with the great heart. Her boy who is hiding a terrible secret. A secret that will force Jade to decide between what is right, and what feels right.



Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

It has been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parentsa divorceaor since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live.



A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life sheas been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend.


 
Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
 
When Annabel, the youngest of three beautiful sisters, has a bitter falling out with her best friendathe popular and exciting Sophieashe suddenly finds herself isolated and friendless. but then she meets owenaa loner, passionate about music and his weekly radio show, and always determined to tell the truth. And when they develop a friendship, Annabel is not only introduced to new music but is encouraged to listen to her own inner voice. with owenas help, can Annabel find the courage to speak out about what exactly happened the night her friendship with Sophie came to a screeching halt?
 
Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler
 
A love beyond life...a danger beyond doubt.


When her boyfriend, Tristan, died, Ivy thought she'd lost everything, even her faith in angels. But now she's discovered that he's her guardian angel -- his presence so strong that she can feel the touch of his hand, the beat of his heart. Ivy needs Tristan now more than ever because he knows she's in terrible danger. Only Ivy's guardian angel can save her now that his killer is after her.


But if Tristan rescues Ivy, his mission on earth will be finished, and he must leave her behind forever. Will saving Ivy mean losing her just when he's finally reached her again?

Please vote soon!!




 
 

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Playlist for Beastly:)

Beastly
Listen To This!
Photobucket
Santeria- Sublime
Thunder- Boys Like Girls
To Be Loved- Papa Roach
Empty Inbetween- Tegan and Sara
I Caught Fire- The Used

Beastly

Photobucket
Beastly
by Alex Flinn
Rating: Great!
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 304

Synopsis
A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright--a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.


You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll stay this way forever--ruined--unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I'll tell you. I'll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I'll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

Review
I ran a poll asking which book out of a list of four i should read next and Beastly by Alex Flinn won! So i got right on to reading this book and found that i really liked it alot and i finished it in only a day! Beastly (connected to the story Beauty and The Beast my favorite Disney story) is basically "Beast's" point of view. Beautiful and cocky Kyle Kingsbury is turned into a beast to mend his selfish mean natured ways and the only way to break the spell is by finding someone who can truly love him no matter what he looks like. Immedietley i think- "Oh god, this guy is doomed!" but by the end i can't help but feel sorry for the guy and i actually started rooting for him! This is the perfect twist on an old fairy tale and im really excited to know that they're currently making a movie based on it! This is really a lovely book and i loved reading it!

Playlist for Evermore

Evermore
Listen To This!
Photobucket


Crazier- Taylor Swift
Love Song- The Cure
Forever- Papa Roach
Hello Lonely- Theory of a Deadman
Oh My God- Ida Maria

Evermore

Photobucket
Evermore
by Alyson Noel
Rating: So so...
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 306

Synopsis
Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people's thoughts, and know a person's life story by touch. Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school--but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste...


Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition. He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets. Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she's thinking--and he's the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head. She doesn't know who he really is--or what he is. Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies.

Review
In the beginning of the book i was not that in to it to be honest. It seemed to kind of drag along and Ever was super depressed and very grouchy the whole time. Just before i decided to close the book and just give up, the book started to get a little better and then a little more better and then i was hooked. It might take a little patience but once you get past the first chapter, Evermore is a really great read. Damen is strangely familiar to another literary character, (as i've heard many others say) Edward but he's also very different. Miles and Riley have to be my two favorite characters in the whole book aside from Damen, they both put a little humorous kick to this other wise intense and passionate novel. If it wasn't so ho-hum at the beginning i would say this book was great but sice it was, i only rated as So So. I'm glad i got into this book though and i really can't wait to read the next book in the Immortal Series- Blue Moon!

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Want It Wednesday! (On Time)


The Nature of Jade
by Deb Caletti

Plot
Jade DeLuna is too young to die. She knows this, and yet she can't quite believe it, especially when the terrifying thoughts, loss of breath, and dizzy feelings come. Since being diagnosed with Panic Disorder, she's trying her best to stay calm, and visiting the elephants at the nearby zoo seems to help. That's why Jade keeps the live zoo webcam on in her room, and that's where she first sees the boy in the red jacket. A boy who stops to watch the elephants. A boy carrying a baby.


His name is Sebastian, and he is raising his son alone. Jade is drawn into Sebastian's cozy life with his son and his activist grandmother on their Seattle houseboat, and before she knows it, she's in love. With this boy who has lived through harder times than anyone she knows. This boy with a past.

Jade knows the situation is beyond complicated, but she hasn't felt this safe in a long time. She owes it all to Sebastian, her boy with the great heart. Her boy who is hiding a terrible secret. A secret that will force Jade to decide between what is right, and what feels right.


Wild Roses
by Deb Caletti

Plot
Seventeen-year-old Cassie Morgan lives with a time bomb (a.k.a. her stepfather, Dino Cavalli). To the public, Dino is a world-renowned violin player and composer. To Cassie, he's an erratic, self-centered bully. And he's getting worse: He no longer sleeps, and he grows increasingly paranoid. Before, Cassie was angry. Now she is afraid.


Enter Ian Waters: a brilliant young violinist, and Dino's first-ever student. The minute Cassie lays eyes on Ian she knows she's doomed. Cassie thought she understood that love could bring pain, but this union will have consequences she could not have imagined.

In the end, only one thing becomes clear: In the world of insanity, nothing is sacred....



The Time Travelers Wife
by Audrey Niffenegger

Plot
The love story of Henry and Claire whose lives are punctuated by Henry's disappearance to different points in time--sometimes even back to visit Claire as a young woman. When Henry meets Claire, he is twenty-eight, and she is twenty. He's a hip, handsome librarian; she is an art student with Botticelli hair. Henry has never met Claire before; Claire has known Henry since she was six...

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Book Blogger Appreciation Week



The second annual BBAW is taking place between September 14-18!

BBAW is a week set aside in September to give thanks to those great book blogs out there! As a new blogger and reviewer, i am completely grateful and happy about my blogging experience and the great people i've got to meet through this. Now is the time to vote for your favorite blogs so that they know just how much you appreciate there input and outlook on your favorite books.

As all of us out there in the book reviewing world- books maybe the greatest thing out there. For some of us, it is even an escape from our otherwise boring our catastrophic lives. I love reading and it is one of my number one favorite things to do when it comes to my free time so Book Blogger Appreciation Week sounds like a pretty good idea to me!

Catagories Include-  

  • Best Non-fiction Review Blog

  • Best Kidlit Blog

  • Best YA Review Blog

  • Best Romance Blog

  • Best Design

  • Best Name for Blog

  • Best Published Author Blog

  • Best New blog
Please register here to participate! All bloggers are encouraged to vote, even if you are not an reviewer! Your voice counts and you will help decide who is deserving of these awards! VOTE NOW!


Monday, July 20, 2009

California, My Birthday and Disneyland!

disneyland Pictures, Images and Photos
Today was my 17th nirthday and now it is officially over. It is now 12:35 in lovely Los Angeles and and i am happy to say this was probably the best birthday ever!

Yesterday i flew in from San Antonio, Texas to meet my aunt Dez at LAX and then i got to see my cool Gandpa Ricky and my Uncle Ray! We had a little barbeque and i went to bed peacfully knowing that tomorrow i would spend the whole day at Disneyland! This morning i had to wake up at 7:00 (i know just shoot me please!) and get ready but it really wasn't that  bad at all! Disney was fun and i got to go on alot of cool rides! About a million people told me Happy Birthday but i think they were just doing their job (haha), so it was really fun!

I have three new blog posts and i will be posting alot more frequently now! Yay! So keep reading and watch out for next weeks In My Mailbox because i will be making a trip to some crazy good bookstores here!

Love,
Christina

So Memorable...

Photobucket
Margarettown
by Gabrielle Zevin

Character: N.

Quote: "Someday, you do not know when, you will be driving down the road and someday, you do not now when, you will make a wrong tun. At the end of the road, when you're least expecting it, he (or indeed she) will be there."

Song Cry: I Like You by Morrissey


In My Mailbox! (5)

Photobucket

Lately i've been sufering from an ongoing obsession with Sylvia Plath. Reading her biography I became quite interested in her and fascinated by her story. This is definitley a writer/poet you should look into.




Rough Magic: A Biography of Sylvia Plath
by Paul Alexander

Plot
Since her infamous suicide at age thirty, Sylvia Plath (1932-1963) has been celebrated for her impeccable and ruthless poetry, which excels at describing the most extreme reaches of human consciousness and passions. The bestselling autobiographical novel The Bell Jar illuminated her life for millions of fans, followed by The Colossus, Ariel, and the Pulitzer-Prize winning Collected Poems.



Based on exclusive interviews and extensive archival research, Rough Magic probes the events of Plath's life-including her turbulent marriage to the English poet Ted Hughes-in the first biography to take a compassionate view of this fiercely talented, deeply troubled artist.




Photobucket
Ariel
by Sylvia Plath

Plot
Written in the last few month of her life, Ariel is a collecion of Sylvia Plath's greatest works- "Daddy," "Ariel's Song," "Edge," "Words" and more.

Want It Wednesdays! (A Bit Late!)

Photobucket

The Tenth Circle
by Jodi Picoult

Plot
Fourteen-year-old Trixie Stone is in love for the first time. She's also the light of her father, Daniel's life -- a straight-A student; a pretty, popular freshman in high school; a girl who's always seen her father as a hero. That is, until her world is turned upside down with a single act of violence. Suddenly everything Trixie has believed about her family -- and herself -- seems to be a lie. Could the boyfriend who once made Trixie wild with happiness have been the one to end her childhood forever? She says that he is, and that is all it takes to make Daniel, a seemingly mild-mannered comic book artist with a secret tumultuous past he has hidden even from his family, venture to hell and back to protect his daughter.








Photobucket

I Heart You, You Haunt Me
by Lisa Schroeder

Plot
"Girl meets boy.



Girl loses boy.


Girl gets boy back...


...sort of."


Ava can't see him or touch him, unless she's dreaming. She can't hear hisvoice, except for the faint whispers in her mind. Most would think she'scrazy, but she knows he's here.


Jackson. The boy Ava thought she'd spend the rest of her life with. He's back from the dead, as proof that love truly knows no bounds.




PhotobucketKissed by an Angel : Kissed by an Angel/The Power of Love/Soulmates


by Elizabeth Chandler

Plot
A love beyond life...a danger beyond doubt.



In a romantic and suspenseful collection of the "New York Times" bestselling trilogy, love's unbreakable bonds are put to the test.


When her boyfriend, Tristan, died, Ivy thought she'd lost everything, even her faith in angels. But now she's discovered that he's her guardian angel -- his presence so strong that she can feel the touch of his hand, the beat of his heart. Ivy needs Tristan now more than ever because he knows she's in terrible danger. Only Ivy's guardian angel can save her now that his killer is after her.


But if Tristan rescues Ivy, his mission on earth will be finished, and he must leave her behind forever. Will saving Ivy mean losing her just when he's finally reached her again?





















Saturday, July 18, 2009

Attention Readers!

I am completely and unimaginably sorry that I have not been able to post any reviews lately! No worries though, soon I will have a butt load of great reviews that will really have you thinking.... I've got to buy that book!

I am currently getting ready to go to the airport and make my way to California! I can't even explain to you how excited I am and I really can't wait to get to the beach! However, I assure you that once I get there I will work on getting a couple of reviews done for your reading pleasure!

Wish me luck!
Christina<3

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Playlist for Looking for Alaska

Looking for Alaska
Listen To This!
Photobucket
Crazy for This Girl- Evan and Jaron
Yellow- Coldplay
Who Knew- Pink
Something- The beatles
My Paper Heart- All-American Rejects

Looking For Alaska

PhotobucketLooking For Alaska
by John Greene
Rating: Incredible
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 221

Synopsis
Before. Miles "Pudge" Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave "the Great Perhaps" even more (Fran├žois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything but boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. After. And nothing is ever the same.

Review
I love surfing the blogosphere for great books that could be potential reads, and when i heard about this book i decioded to give it a try. If you can believe it, Looking for Alaska is one of the first books i've read from a guy's point of view in a long time and i was really skeptical about it. Once i got started reading it though, it really blew my mind. Looking for Alaska is beautifully written and it's fun to hear about all those famous people's last words- but the best part by far is Mile or Pudge as his friends like to call him. He's so gawky and weird and unexperienced that you couldn't help but root him and Alaska on. There's maybe one problem with this book- the before and the after. Yes i have a tendency to peek at the end of the book or flip through the pages a little and when i did with this book i was shocked and saddened. I'm not going to say what happens because of course i want you to read it but that was certaintly a bummer. I love Alaska Young, she actually reminds me a little of myself if you can believe it. She's so carefree and adventurous that you can't help but love her strange and crazy ways. A must read!

In My Mailbox (4)

Photobucket
He's Just Not That Into You
by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo

Plot
He's Just "Not" That Into You *"* the six little words that changed dating forever"



For ages women have come together over coffee, cocktails, or late-night phone chats to analyze the puzzling behavior of men. Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo are here to say that -- despite good intentions -- you're wasting your time. Men are not complicated, although they'd like you to think they are. And there are no mixed messages.


The truth may be he's just not that into you.





Wintergirls Pictures, Images and Photos
Wintergirls
by Laurie Halse Anderson

Plot
"'Dead girl walking,' the boys say in the halls.



'Tell us your secret,' the girls whisper, one toilet to another.


I am that girl.


I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.


I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame."


Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the skinniest. But what comes after size zero and size double-zero? When Cassie succumbs to the demons within, Lia feels she is being haunted by her friend's restless spirit.

Playlist for Dead Until Dark

Dead Until Dark
Listen To This!
Photobucket
Bad Things- Jace Everett
Afterlife- Avenged Sevenfold
Dark Come Soon- Tegan and Sara
I Walk the Line- Johnny Cash
How Soon is Now- The Smiths

Dead Until Dark

dead until dark Pictures, Images and Photos 
Dead Until Dark
by Charlaine Harris
Rating: So so
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 260

Synopsis
Sookie Stackhouse is a cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana, but she keeps to herself and doesn't date much because of her "disability" to read minds. When she meets Bill, Sookie can't hear a word he's thinking. He's the type of guy she's waited for all of her life, but he has a disability, too--he's a vampire with a bad reputation. When one of Sookie's coworkers is killed, she fears she's next.

Review
Since I love True Blood and every vampire novel/book ever created (well maybe not ever but you get the point), I just had to get my hands on the novel version of this t.v. show. Dead Until Dark is suprisingly way different from the actual t.v. show so if you want to read the book just to have it mimic the television version- don't get it. Don't get me wrong, its still an awesome book and all...its just not the same. Thew book doesn't go into detail about Jason's drug abuse or him and Amy's relationship, there is no Tara or Maryann in the first novel and it doesn't even talk alot about Sam's relationship with Maryann and Tara or how he became a shapeshifter. The book did have some strong points though- like Bill! I really think Bill is kind of a more grown-up version of Edward Cullen from Twilight. He is very suave and charming in Dead Until Dark and he is also way, way more explicit (lol). This isn't a YA novel but it is still very good and very interesting! There are alot more book in the series and i can't wait ti read the next ones! P.S. I love the cover too!! :)

Chrisitna<3

So Memorable...

Photobucket



Looking For Alaska
by John Greene

Character: Miles "Pudge" Halter

Quote: "If people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane."

Song Cry: Meet Virginia by Train

Thursday, July 9, 2009

What should I read next?

So I got this idea for a poll from B.A.M. Book Reviews... :)

I have a bunch of books at home right now and i'm totally confused about which one to read first! So I gotta ask for your guys' help...

Go to the poll located at the top left hand side of my blog and vote for which book you would like me to read and review next!! Hurry though 'cause I only have 9 days until I have to go to California and I'll have to speed read!!

Thanks Again,

Christina :)

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Author Interview: Laurie Halse Anderson

Laurie Halse Anderson, writer of books Speak, Catalyst, Wintergirls and others has been so kind as to answer a few of my questions both for me and for you! Hope you enjoy!


Photobucket

Laurie Halse Anderson Interview


Question #1

Speak was your first novel and adressed two very important issues in teenagers and adults a like, rape and depression. How do you feel knowing that this book is used to teach students today about these problems?

I am humbled that something I created is being used in schools around the country.


Question #2
How did you come up with the characters Melinda and Kate? Do you put a little of you or people you know into them?

All of my characters appear to me in my head. I have a very vivid imagination, always have. Melinda appeared to me in a dream so vividly that I had to listen to her story. I suppose I could find things in each of my characters that remind me of people I know, but we all can.


Question #3
Has anyone ever came up to you and told you about how one of your novels changed their lives? If so, how did you feel about that?

I meet people on tour, at book signings, at conventions who tell me how reading one of my novels has helped them in some way. I receive lots of emails from readers who have been touched by my work. I am humbled that something I did had a positive impact upon someone's life, then I am very stoked. Although, it saddens me that our teens are going through such tough times and dealing with some really nasty issues, I find hope in their reaching out to me to express their thoughts and feelings about my novel.


Question #1
How do you get into the mood of writing? Do you have any rituals or favorite places to go?

 My husband has created a wonderful writing cottage for me to escape to in order to write. It is almost done, and I have spent a little bit of time there all alone. The vibes were GREAT!!!!



Question #5
How hard was it to break into the writing industry? Did you have a lot of trouble or did it come fairly easy?

I don't feel as though it was easy. I received hundreds of rejection letters and did hundreds of revisions to my work. I knew what I enjoyed doing, I had a plan, and I went for it. If I was not a published author by a certain, realistic, date, then I was going to go to nursing school to support my daughters. I do feel that it was all worth it!


Question #6
Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Turn off the computer, TV, PS2, whatever, and just write. Pen to paper. Be ready to rewrite! Make a plan, adjust when necessary, but stay focused.


Question #7
What do you like to do in your spare time? How has that changed from when you were a teenager to now?

 I love to garden, read and hang with my family. When I was a teen, I really just liked to read!


Question #8
Can you tell the readers something about yourself that not too many people know?

i love spicy food!

Playlist for If I Stay!

If I Stay
Listen To This!

Photobucket

Stay Close, Don't Go- Secondhand Serenade
Girlfriend In A Coma- The Smiths
Beethoven's Cello Sonata no. 3- (of course) Beethoven
Alone in this Bed- Framing Hanley
Breakable- Ingrid Michealson

If I Stay

If I Stay
by Gayle Forman
Rating: Incredible
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 201

Photobucket

Synopsis
In a single moment, "everything" changes. Seventeenyear- old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she fi nds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck...
A sophisticated, layered, and heartachingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all makeaand the ultimate choice Mia commands.


Review
I saw a lot of reviews for the story floating around the blogosphere and naturally being the reader that i am, i had to check it out for myself. I saw alot of smililairities in If I Stay and books like Elsewhere and The Lovely Bones and you know i love those two books! So when i read If I Stay i expected myself to immedietly jump into it. I did and by page 16 i was jumping up and down in my room and trying not to hyperventilate from how good it was! If I Stay can sometimes make you laugh and then sometimes make you cry...the ending expecially! There was so much heart in the book that i found myself crying like a little baby at the end! My stepmom looked at me like i was an idiot but oh i didnt care! In the middle though, i hate to say, it kind of trudged along not really going anywhere but that ended shortly and the highly climatic ending certaintly made up for that!! If I Stay was a great book and i'm glad i desided to pick this one up!

Want It Wednesday!

So since i have a library card now i get to get as many books as i want!!! These are the books i crave...

The Vampire Diaries: The Return, Nightfall
by L.J. Smith
Photobucket


Elena Gilbert is alive--again.
When Elena sacrificed herself to save the two vampire brothers who love her--the handsome, brooding Stefan and the sleek and dangerous Damon--she was consigned to a fate beyond death. Until a powerful supernatural force pulled her back.
Now Elena is not "just" human. She has powers and gifts that were bestowed on her in the afterlife. What's more, her blood pulses with an overwhelming and unique force that makes her irresistible to any vampire.
Stefan wants to find a way to keep Elena safe so that they can make a life together. Damon, however, is driven by an insatiable desire for power, and wants Elena to rule as his princess. When Stefan is lured away from Fell's Church, Damon seizes his chance to convince her that he is the brother she is meant to be with. . .
But a darkness is infiltrating the town, and Damon, always the hunter, is now the hunted; he becomes the prey of a malevolent creature that can possess him at will, and who desires not just Elena's blood but her death.


Just Listen
by Sarah Dessen

Just Listen Pictures, Images and Photos

when Annabel, the youngest of three beautiful sisters, has a bitter falling out with her best friendathe popular and exciting Sophieashe suddenly finds herself isolated and friendless. but then she meets owenaa loner, passionate about music and his weekly radio show, and always determined to tell the truth. And when they develop a friendship, Annabel is not only introduced to new music but is encouraged to listen to her own inner voice. with owenas help, can Annabel find the courage to speak out about what exactly happened the night her friendship with Sophie came to a screeching halt?

So Memorable...

The Kiss
by Kathryn Harrison

Photobucket


Character: Kathryn Harrison

Quote: "I will come to the point where it is less painfull to regard my father as crazy than to conclude that he has been so canny in his judgement of my character and it's frailities that he knows exactly what language to use, what noose of words to cast around my neck."

Song Cry: Because of You by Kelly Clarkson

In My Mailbox (3)

I am currently posting from my city library and i apologize for any sloppiness! I only have an hour to get 8 posts done which means less then ten minutes for each one!! Yeah, I know, it sucks!!
At the library this passed monday i got ahold of some amazing books!!

Vampire Diaries
by L.J. Smith

The Vampire Diaries 1 Pictures, Images and Photos

Elena: the golden girl, the leader, the one who can have any boy she wants.

Stefan: brooding and mysterious, he seems to be the only one who can resist Elena, even as he struggles to protect her from the horrors that haunt his past.

Damon: sexy, dangerous, and driven by an urge for revenge against Stefan, the brother who betrayed him. Determined to have Elena, he'd kill to possess her.

Collected here in one volume for the first time, volumes one and two of The Vampire Diaries, the tale of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.

Evermore
by Alyson Noel

Evermore Pictures, Images and Photos



Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people's thoughts, and know a person's life story by touch. Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school--but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste...

Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition. He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets. Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she's thinking--and he's the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head. She doesn't know who he really is--or what he is. Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies.

Looking for Alaska
by John Green


looking for alaska Pictures, Images and Photos
Before. Miles "Pudge" Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave "the Great Perhaps" even more (Fran├žois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything but boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite ofsafe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. After. And nothing is ever the same.

Beastly
by Alex Flinn

Photobucket
A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright--a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.
You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll stay this way forever--ruined--unless I can break the spell.
Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I'll tell you. I'll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I'll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Bad, Good and Awesome News...

So if any of you haven't noticed, I've been sort of M.I.A. for the past couple of days. It's terribly bad timing for me and I'm completely heart broken but my computer burned out sometime Saturday afternoon:( Sooo, because of that my blog posts will be very infrequent (probably once a week) until July 17th when I make my trip to sunny California and I am able to use the computer at my aunts house.


The good news is that after many failed attempts at getting a library card (you will never believe what I had to go through to finally get it) I can now regularly check out books and what nots! This may not seem like such a big deal now because of my recent computer meltdown but it actually means that once my parents get my computer fixed (hopefully by the time I get back from California) I will be able to send out much more reviews and such! So don't fret everything will be back to normal soon!


In other awesome news, as I mentioned earlier, I wall be leaving for Cali in exactly 11 days!!! Shout out to any fellow bloggers in the Los Angeles area! Some more awesome news is that I actually have an authors interview coming up with one if your favorite authors- Laurie Halse Anderson, who wrote Wintergirls, Speak, Catalyst and other great novels! So watch out for that coming up!

I will be making a trip to the library via city bus tommorrow where I will be presenting the reviews for If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris! I am currently blogging from my iPod Touch right now so I apologize for the simplicity and boringness of my post!!

Again, thank you for your understanding and I promise I will be back soon enough!

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Awards :D



Yay! So I got this award from Lexi at AnotherPageIsUsed! The idea is to make a list of your 7 favorite things, as well as a list of blogs that you think deserve this award. I took a lot of time into thinking what and who I should list so here it goes…



7 Things
1) Reading
2) Writing
3) California
4) Family
5) Friends
6) Beach
7) Blogging



7 Blogs




I also got this award...
Which means...


"This blog invests and believes in the Proximity - nearness in space, time and relationships. These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement! Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers! Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this clever-written text into the body of their award."

I only need one more blog for nominating and I chose...
I really appreciate these two awards so I hope you like them too!
Thanks,
Christina :)

Playlist for Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac!

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac!
Listen To This!
Photobucket
The First Day of My Life- Bright Eyes
1979- Smashing Pumpkins
I Will- The Beatles
Yoshimi Batlles the Pink Robots- The Flaming Lips
The Heart of The Matter- India.Arie

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac
by Gabrielle Zevin
Rating: Great
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 288



Synopsis

If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss.

She wouldn't have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn't have hit her head on the steps.

She wouldn't have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia.

She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace. She might even have remembered why she fell in love with him in the first place.

She would understand why her best friend, Will, keeps calling her "Chief." She'd get all his inside jokes, and maybe he wouldn't be so frustrated with her for forgetting things she can't possibly remember.

She'd know about her mom's new family.

She'd know about her dad's fiancee.

She wouldn't have to spend her junior year relearning all the French she supposedly knew already.

She never would have met James, the boy with the questionable past and the even fuzzier future, who tells her he once wanted to kiss her.

She wouldn't have wanted to kiss him back.

But Naomi picked heads.
Review
Everyone knows I love a good Gabrielle Zevin novel and Memoirs is the perfect antidote to my cravings. Naomi suffers amnesia after a nasty fall and can't recall the past four years of her life, sge can't remember her boyfriend Ace or why she liked him, she can't remember her best friend Will and all their inside jokes and she just met mysterious and brooding James- the boy who posed as her boyfriend so he could look after her in the ambulance. Suddenly her life is turned upside down and she has to regain her memories and her life back. The only problem is that she's not sure she wants to go back to her old self and when her and James start a very passionate relationship, she doesn't see a reason to return to her old life. Naomi is definitley one of my favorite characters of all time and the characters in this bppk are so well thouight out and perfect for each other. The thing i most recognize about Gabrielle's writing is that her mom represents photography, her dad represents writing, Will represents music and James represents movies. If you read it (which you should) i think that would be the first things you should look out for and notice. James is such a heartbreaking character because before he met Naomi he had a pretty messed up past. It crazy to see how desperatley he needs Naomi when at first it was Naomi who needed the help. I love this book as i love all Zevin's novels and of course you should go buy it as soon as possible!

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Want It Wednesdays!


The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

Plot
Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, "The Hunger Games." The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When Kat's sister is chosen by lottery, Kat steps up to go in her place.







L.A. Candy
by Lauren Conrad

Plot
Los Angeles is all about the sweet life: hot clubs, cute guys, designer . . . "everything." Nineteen-year-old Jane Roberts can't wait to start living it up. She may be in L.A. for an internship, but Jane plans to play as hard as she works, and has enlisted her BFF Scarlett to join in the fun.




When Jane and Scarlett are approached by a producer who wants them to be on his new series, a "reality version of "Sex and the City,"" they can hardly believe their luck. Their own show? Yes, please


Soon Jane is TV's hottest star. Fame brings more than she ever imagined possible for a girl from Santa Barbara--free designer clothes, the choicest tables at the most exclusive clubs, invites to Hollywood premieres--and she's lapping up the VIP treatment with her eclectic entourage of new pals. But those same friends who are always up for a wild night are also out for a piece of Jane's spotlight.


In a city filled with people chasing after their dreams, it's not long before Jane wakes up to the reality that everyone wants something from her, and nothing is what it seems to be.




Twenty Boy Summer
by Sarah Ockler

"Don't worry, Anna. I'll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it."



"Okay."


"Promise me? Promise you won't say anything?"


"Don't worry." I laughed. "It's our secret, right?""


Plot
According to her best friend Frankie, twenty days in ZanzibarBay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy ever day, there's a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there's something she hasn't told Frankie---she's already had that kind of romance, and it was with Frankie's older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.



 






                                                                                                                                                                                                 
Related Posts with Thumbnails