Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Banned Books Week: A Story Close to Home

I'm not actually participating in Banned Books Week but I do have a story that goes with it that happened to me quite recently.

The school I go to is extremely disturbingly small! I mean there are only like five seniors, including me and we don't even have a library (disgaceful)! So when a bunch of us got together to start up a school newspaper I immedietly knew i wanted to man the book reviews! I was so excited and being that I had just read Hate List by Jennifer Brown and also that it delt with a lot of school related issues and ultimately had an inspiring lesson, I decided to review that book. All of my friends were really excited to see what I would say about the book because it looked really interesting but then the tornado hit. And his name was Mr. A our school principle(ugh!!)!

Before the copies were printed we had to send the proofs to Mr. A to be read and looked over. Everyone was super excited and beyond proud. Not only did we put together and write everything ourselves but we also spent a ton of time on making it the best it could be. Mr. A sent the proofs back by the next morning and we were CRUSHED to find out that he was literaly taking out at least half of our original content. Everything creative thet we made up ourselves got switched out for boring lectures about Merits and Locker Rules and blah blah blah! With that stuff he also edited out my book review for Hate List deeming it innappropriate and controversial! Can you believe it!!! The book was "supposedly" on the banned books list for our school district which ment I could not add it to the school newspaper and no one could see my review:(

So that is my Banned Books Week story and i hope we take from it a lesson about open-mindness and the power of a couple of ignorant, relentless bastards!

Yours Truly,
Christina

Want It Wednesday:)


Eternal
by Cynthia Leitich Smith


Plot
At last, Miranda is the life of the party: all she had to do was die. Elevated and adopted by none other than the reigning King of the Mantle of Dracul, Miranda goes from high-school theater wannabe to glamorous royal fiend overnight. Meanwhile, her reckless and adoring guardian angel, Zachary, demoted to human guise as the princess’s personal assistant, has his work cut out for him trying to save his girl’s soul and plan the Master’s fast-approaching Death Day gala. In alternating points of view, Miranda and Zachary navigate a cut-throat eternal aristocracy as they play out a dangerous and darkly hilarious love story for the ages.






Dani Noir
by Nova Ren Suma


Plot
If this were a movie, you'd open to the first page of this book and be transported to a whole other world. Everything would be in black and white, except maybe for the girl in pink polka-dot tights, and this really great music would start to swell in the background. All of a sudden, you wouldn't be able to help it — you'd be a part of the story, you'd be totally sucked in. You'd be in this place, filled with big lies, mysterious secrets, and a tween girl turned sleuth....


Zoom in on thirteen-year-old Dani Callanzano. It's the summer before eighth grade, and Dani is stuck in her nothing-ever-happens town with only her favorite noir mysteries at the Little Art movie theater to keep her company.

But one day, a real-life mystery begins to unravel — at the Little Art! And it all has something to do with a girl in polka-dot tights.... Armed with a vivid imagination, a flair for the dramatic, and her knowledge of all things Rita Hayworth, Dani sets out to solve the mystery, and she learns more about herself than she ever though she could.




XOXO
Christina

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Playlist for Secret Society:D

Secret Society
Listen To This!

Photobucket
Metro- The Vincent Black Shadow
Gimme Sympathy- Metric
Dead Meat- Sean Lennon
Blurry- Puddle of Mudd
Through The Glass- Stone Sour

Secret Society


Secret Society
by Tom Dolby
Rating: Great!
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 352



Synopsis
Secrets, secrets are no fun. Secrets, secrets hurt someone. . . .

An eccentric new girl. A brooding socialite. The scion of one of New York's wealthiest families. A promising filmmaker. As students at the exclusive Chadwick School, Phoebe, Lauren, Nick, and Patch already live in a world most teenagers only dream about.

They didn't ask to be Society members. But when three of them receive a mysterious text message promising success and fame beyond belief, they say yes to everything—even to the harrowing initiation ceremony in a gritty warehouse downtown and to the ankh-shaped tattoo they're forced to get on the nape of their necks. Once they're part of the Society, things begin falling into place for them. Week after week, their ambitions are fulfilled. It's all perfect—until a body is found in Central Park with no distinguishing marks except for an ankh-shaped tattoo.



Review
Secret Society is really just a great suspense novel. The characters were flawless and the plot was amazing, believable and very interesting. As a first YA novel goes it was pretty crazy good, i mean everything about the book just fell together perfectly. The pieces fit nicely and the characters were not just annoying, rich brats. Phoebe abd Nick were the cutest couple ever and Lauren had a lot of depth to her. Patch was really different too, he had this kind of back round plot going on which i always anticipated reading. Secret Society had this very creepy thing going on that wasn't terrifying but just made me really uncomfortable for the characters.


What i really liked this about this novel was the great balance of mystery and romance and family situations. It had all types of topics that it touched on that it didn't seem to pushy on anyone thing, it was a good, light, easy read. I recomend it for anyone looking for a good mystery and im definitly waiting for the next installment in this series!




Yours Truly,
Christina

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown!


Attention bloggers! With so many great novels coming out in 2010 it only seems right to create a meme celebrating the release of so many awesome books! Websites like Teens Read Too and The Tenners are set up to introduce you to these books but it's us bloggers who have to do the real hard work! If you're a currently reading/reviewing/in possession of any fabulous 2010 books that you would really love to promote a special bok you love "Authors, We Know Your Secret: 2010 Book Countdown" would be the meme for you! Amanda at Review a Book 123 is hosting this meme and i'm assigned to spread the word about this cool new idea!



What you need to do:

Check out this meme here for more info ASAP! It's starts October 1st!

In My Mailbox...(15)

My First Vlog!








Okay so the lighting is terrible courtesy of El Broken Lamp by Sister-Who-Can't-Stay-Out-of-My-Room. It's a masterpiece isn't it? And if you can't already tell im really nervous and my hair is so jacked! Haha but oh well...

The Books I Mentioned-

For Review-

The Pace by Shelena Shorts
Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater
Diary of a Witness by Catherine Ryan Hyde
The Everafter by Amy Huntley
The Complete History of Why I hate Her by Jennifer Richard Jacobson
Little Black Lies by Tish Cohen

Checked Out From Library-
When It Happens by Susane Colasanti
Kiss of Life by Daniel Waters
The Eternal Kiss: Thirteen Vampire Tales of Blood and Desire by Various Authors



Yours Truly,
Christina

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Sleepless


Sleepless
by Thomas Fahy
Rating: So So
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 224

Synopsis
"SOMEONE ELSE WILL


DIE SOON,

she tells herself.

SOMEONE ELSE WILL DIE,

AND I'LL BE RESPONSIBLE."

A few days after the first time you

walk in your sleep, you kill someone.

That's how the end begins

Emma Montgomery has been having gruesome nightmares. Even worse, when she wakes up, she isn't where she was when she fell asleep. And she's not only the only one. One by one the students of Saint Opportuna High start having the nightmares, and sleepwalking. And the next morning one of their classmates turns up dead.

Something is making them kill in their sleep. Emma and her friends need to band together, to keep themselves awake until they can figure our what's behind the murders—before anyone else dies.




Review
Sleepless was a nail biting, gut wrenching, mystery, with enough twists and turns to make your head spin! I enjoyed reading this new and very hypnotic read yet, i always felt like there was something missing. Yes, it had a great plot and yes, it was kind of freightning but still...i felt like there was just this large gap left un-touched and it really bothered me at the end.

Emma is the typical mousy burnett that you would expect in these "horror books". I hated that. Seriously why is that we burnett's always have to be stuck in this kind of situations when the blondes remain safe and sound in there little cookie cutter homes (no offense to blondes though!)? It's injustice i tell you! And of course she is in love with the handsome-yet-so-out-of-her-league-but-is-still-somehow-attracted-to-her guy...ugh! Really? Come on! Although the plot was interesting and very well thought out the two main characters of the novel are just so typical!

If you ignore the characters and pay more attention to the plot though, it IS kind of cool. All the voodoo and hypnotisim stiff really catches your eye and you definitly want to read more. The deaths are also very creepy which totally makes up for the lack of character originality. I couldn't really come up with a playlist for this book though because unfortunately it didn't inspire me enough:( but if you're looking for a quick and scary read pick up Sleepless and tell me what you think!

xoxo
Tina!

Want It Wednesday!

These are the books i would LOVE to have!




The Clearing
by Heather Davis

Plot
Amy, a sixteen-year-old recovering from an abusive relationship, moves to the country to start a new life with her aunt–all she wants is for everything to be different. In the clearing at the back of Aunt Mae’s property, she makes an amazing discovery—Henry, a boy stuck in the endless summer of 1944. Henry and his world become Amy’s refuge and she begins to learn that some moments are worth savoring. But when the past and present come crashing together, both of them must find the courage to face what is meant to be, even if it means losing each other forever.







Beautiful Creatures
by Margaret Stohl and Kami Garcia

Plot
Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps, and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.


Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.




Bad Apple
by Laura Ruby

Plot
Junior Tola Riley doesn’t care what people say about her. She knows her ever-changing hair color and goth clothes make her an easy target. Whatever. But the latest rumor is different.... The entire school believes she had an affair with her art teacher. The rumors may be a lie, but the fallout is all too real. Will Tola finally stand up for the truth?


With a heroine you'll root for and a truly relevant story, Laura Ruby has once again brought the authentic teen experience to life for readers who relish dark humor and razor-sharp wit.

Author Interview: Stephanie Kuenhert

Presenting Stephanie Kuenhert author of new novel Ballads of Subrbia!



Stephanie Kuenhert is the rockin' attention getting author of the fast paced, emotional novel Ballads of Suburbia! When she's not writing she bartends at a local Forest Park, Illinois bar and is currently working on her next, sure to be awesome, YA novel!


Interview

Question #1

Music plays a big part in Ballads of Suburbia, the story is actually constructed like a ballad. If you had to choose one song that reflects the central conflit of the story what song would it be?

Hmm well I'm always indecisive so I'm going to name two songs. I do think that the song Adrian chose "Bastards of Young" by the Replacements suits all of the characters. They are a group of people who feel they have no place, who are all abandoned or neglected by the adults in their lives for one reason or another. But another song I think really suits the book is "The Kids Aren't Alright" by the Offspring. The title pretty much says it all, but specifically it's about kids who had all these dreams and then things fall apart. Yeah it's really hard to choose one song for this book. I have a whole playlist which you can find here.


Question#2
Each character has their own addiction-Kara's cutting, Adrian's heroine, Cassie's Acid, Etc. How do you think each character's addiction reflected there inner troubles? Was it intentional?

I didn't really choose the addiction for the character, the character chose their addiction. Just when I met them, I knew Kara was a cutter and Cass had an acid problem and Adrian was a heroin addict. They definitely do reflect things about their personalities, but they are all escapes and basically each of the characters needs an escape. Cass's reality is very harsh, so she turns to a drug that distorts reality; also she deals with the mental illness in her family and acid kind of creates a mentally ill state so I suppose that is interesting. Adrian does the most extreme drug because he is always looking to live on the edge. Kara cuts... well I think Kara explains why she cuts in the book best :)
Question #3

All of the ballads were very unique in their own ways. If you could rewrite Ballads of Suburbia in another characters point of view which would it be?


Liam's or Cass's. Really though, I came to love and hurt for Liam almost the most out of anyone. He really interested me. But Cass too. I wanted her to have a bigger part in the book, so yeah I'd love to see the whole thing through her eyes.


Question #4
When Kara self injured you described it so vividly. How did your own experience with cutting help you visuilize her inner pain? Was it hard going back to that place?

Um yeah. This book caused me at least three nervous breakdowns. I'm totally serious. And part of it was because I had to get so close into Kara's head and feel that kind of pain again. You don't forget that pain. You don't forget why you cut, so my own experience definitely fed Kara's. In earlier drafts I shied away from getting so deeply into it because I knew it would hurt to go back to that place, but I wanted to do Kara and her story justice. I hope I did. As long as I did, it makes it worth it.

Question #5

While Adrian has trouble expessing his emotions Christian couldn't seem to control his. Was this purposely done? What were readers meant to take away from these two relationships?

Hmm, no that wasn't done on purpose, but that does work out nicely doesn't it? Hee hee doing this interview I've been thinking about how my high school teacher would ask to discuss why an author did something and I always wondered did they really do it intentionally and now I've learned the answer... not always, but it does work out well sometimes!

Basically I'm a writer who is led around by her characters, they act how they are going to act and I record it. So I'm not sure I went into telling the story with anything in particular I wanted readers to take away from the relationships because I think what you do take away is very personal. If anything I hope they see that it is not necessarily good to let your emotions control you like Christian does or to run from your feelings like... well just about every character in the book does. Balance. Balance is very important.

Question #6
How did Maya and Kara's friendship differ from Stacey and Kara's?

I think they had similarities and differences. The main thing is the difference between the friendships you form in grade school and those your form in high school. It's a different beast. You are a lot more open in grade school usually... but you change a lot in high school so you might mesh with people you met in high school better. I think that is a lot of what you are seeing in play with those two friendships.


Question #7

You were a bartender before you were a writer- what were some struggles you went through to get where you are now? Any advice for aspiring writers?


I'm still a bartender. I don't foresee being able to quit my day job (or night job in my case) any time in the near future sadly. I'd love to write full-time and it's my long term goal at this point. So I'm still struggling with a lot of the same things I've always struggled with. There's the general struggle to make ends meet (and isn't most everyone facing that struggle right now), but there is also that inner struggle where I say, "Am I really good enough to do this? Am I ever going to be able to make a living at it? Should I keep trying?" I have TONS of self-doubt. I probably tell my fiance once a week that I'm going to quit writing, but I never mean it because I can't. It's in me. As long as I keep meeting/dreaming up characters with a story to tell, I'll keep writing.
As a teenager I struggled with a bunch of other stuff, some of the stuff that my characters in Ballads struggle with like cutting and divorce and friends who are losing themselves to addiction. I was a very insecure and messed up girl for a long time. But my dream of writing nurtured me through.
I think the best way to approach your goals as a writer is in parts. First I knew I need to hone my craft and generate a lot of story ideas. I did this by going to school for creative writing. But if that isn't for you, join a writing group either locally or online. My biggest piece of advice for aspiring writers is always get feedback on your work. So I went to school, honed my craft, met people to give feedback and my next goal was: finish a whole novel. I did, but it was a thinly veiled autobiography and it was bad. I shoved it in a drawer. It wasn't a waste though, because I took some of it, especially some of the characters and it eventually became Ballads. But first I finished another novel, I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone. I had an agent interested in IWBYJR before I finished it so that was lucky. But yeah I finished that book and while she was shopping it I wrote another. But there will always goals and I broke them down. I didn't start with become a bestselling millionaire author. I started with hone and learn my craft, then finish a novel, then finish another novel, then get published, then get published again. And now the goal is write another book and get published again but with the hopes it will do even better than my first two books. Maybe one day I can be a bestseller, who knows. But yeah, break it down into small achievable goals, as small as finish chapter one by this date. That's how I did it!
 
 
Question #8

What influences you as a writer?

Untold stories. The reason I wrote Ballads is because I saw a lot of untold stories that really really needed telling, That's my prime motivator. Discovering characters who really need a voice-- characters who a lot of teens may relate to in some way especially. I'm influenced by what I observe every day. And of course music, particularly punk rock, influences me in a huge way!


Question #9
What are some of your favorite books or literary characters?

Probably my all time favorite characters are Weetzie Bat and her daughter Witch Baby from Francesca Lia Block's Weetzie Bat series. But I have a lot of favorite books: Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh, Hairstyles of the Damned by Joe Meno, Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr (I love the whole Wicked Lovely series, but that's my favorite), Beige by Cecil Castellucci, and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson


Question #10
Are you going to write another YA novel? If so, can you give us a little sneak peek?

I am working on another YA novel. I have a few more YA novels planned. However right now I'm in such an early phase, where I'm still plotting things out and they might change a whole lot, I really don't feel comfortable talking about or sharing much. I did give a little tease over here on my blog though if people want to check out, but seriously, tomorrow it could be a lot different :)


You can check out my review for Ballads of Suburbia here and it's awesome playlist here.

Come back for soon an exclusive interview with Patrick Jones author of The Tear Collector!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

In My Mailbox...(14)

This idea was taking from The Story Siren. Check it out!


For Review:




Behind Every Illusion
by Christina Harner

Plot
Even the soft-spoken eighteen-year-old Tatiana Lewis wholeheartedly accepts this logic. So when she begins to experience unusual changes, she has no clue where to turn and instead keeps her new abilities a secret. But her best friend and brother, Isaac, sees past her illusions and together they explore the significance of her differences and search out the meaning behind them.


Amidst tragedy, unimaginable transformations and an unexpected friendship, Tatiana has to learn to reveal the girl hidden behind her illusions and what it means to face the world in order to preserve not only the forest but her own existence.





Hold Still
by Nina LaCour

Plot
Devastating, hopeful, hopeless, playful . . . in words and illustrations, Ingrid left behind a painful farewell in her journal for Caitlin. Now Caitlin is left alone, by loss and by choice, struggling to find renewed hope in the wake of her best friend's suicide. With the help of family and newfound friends, Caitlin will encounter first love, broaden her horizons, and start to realize that true friendship didn't die with Ingrid. And the journal which once seemed only to chronicle Ingrid's descent into depression, becomes the tool by which Caitlin once again reaches out to all those who loved Ingrid—and Caitlin herself




 
 
Checked Out:
 
 
 

Blue Bloods
by Melissa De La Cruz
 
Plot
When 15-year-olds Schuyler and Bliss find out that they are vampires, as are many of the city's elite, they learn what's behind some of their weird symptoms (such as Schuyler's blue veins, which form "an intricate pattern, visible under the skin's surface," or Bliss's cravings for raw meat), and that "nothing could kill vampires." But something is hunting them, even killing some, and Schuyler grows more determined to stop it, even as the Conclave, the vampire leaders, attempts to cover it up. Readers will recognize the character types here: Schuyler the outcast, Bliss the pretty new girl and Mimi the popular queen bee (who nurses a somewhat incestuous relationship with her equally gorgeous brother).
 
 
 
 

Swoon
by Nina Malkin
 
Plot
Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing even happens in Swoon, Connecticut...until Dice's perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree and her spirit interwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge and while Pen is obvious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She's intesely drawn to him—but not at all crazy abolut the havoc he's wreaking.


Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible—adversary before the whole town succumbs to Sin's will. Only trouble is, she's in love with him.

Friday, September 18, 2009

Playlist for I Know It's Over! :)

I Know It's Over
Listen To This!

Photobucket


Screaming Infidelities- Dashboard Confessional
The Wind Blows- All-American Rejects
I'm With You- Avril Lavigne
More Then A Memory- Garth Brooks
Stay- Safetysuit

I Know It's Over


I Know It's Over
by C.K. Kelly Martin
Rating: So So
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 277


Synopsis
Pure. Unplanned. Perfect. Those were Nick’s summer plans before Sasha stepped into the picture. With the collateral damage from his parents’ divorce still settling and Dani (his girl of the moment) up for nearly anything, complications are the last thing he needs. All that changes, though, when Nick runs into Sasha at the beach in July. Suddenly he’s neck-deep in a relationship and surprised to find he doesn’t mind in the least. But Nick’s world shifts again when Sasha breaks up with him. Then weeks later, while Nick’s still reeling from the breakup, she turns up at his doorstep and tells him she’s pregnant, and Nick finds himself struggling once more to understand the girl he can’t stop caring for, the girl who insists that it’s still over.





Review
I Know It's Over was a good book. But that's it, it was just good and i really hate to say it but i found myself falling asleep at times, losing interest and wanting to literaly just get it over with. The only thing i felt interested about was the point of view. When it's usually the girl talking about her unplanned pregnancy, it was fun listening to it from the guy's side. Nick is abnormally thoughtful for a 16yr. old boy (no offense to guys but sometimes they are just a little transperent)! I had a lot of fun exporing the mind of a young man caught in this heartbreaking dilema. His sadness over he and Sasha's unexpected split really made me feel honestly bad for him and it was easy to relate to something so devesating, only i had never read it from a male point of view.

Sasha was that girl who was, throughout the book, really a mystery. I never could figure out what she was thinking though i understood her reasons for splitting with Nick. It was weird not being able to know what was going on inside the girls head! C.K. Kelly really nailed the teenage dialougue! There was no sugar coating and she described complex teenage emotions beautifully! Also, i had alot of fun putting together the playlist for this book! The songs just came to me and that always makes for a good playlist! I Know It's Over wasn't amazing but it was an interesting read!

Author Blog Tour: Samira Armin Hodges author of Milestones + Giveaway!

Samira Armin Hodges  author of debut novel Milestones!
A little about Milestones...


Synopsis
One day. That’s how long it took for fourteen year-old Faye Martin’s ordinary life to take a dramatic and unexpected turn. First, she gets struck by lightning. Second, Benjamin Parker, the object of her obsession, witnessed her near-death experience. Finally, her parents force her to leave her hometown of Seattle to attend an overnight summer camp, aptly named ‘Camp Milestone’.

Only, Camp Milestone is no ordinary camp. Before she knows it, Faye finds herself caught in a whirlwind of uncertainty, torture, calamine lotion and romance….all in the name of summer camp. But as the summer unfolds, she realizes there is much more to Camp Milestone than meets the eye. Will she be able to unravel the mystery that surrounds this unusual camp? And more importantly, will she be able to survive the madness long enough to put the pieces together?

In a delightful story about the true meaning of self-discovery, love and friendship, part one of the Milestones trilogy takes readers into an imaginative and amazing new world which gives a whole new meaning to the phrase summer camp.


Interview
1.What life experiences inspired you to write Milestones? How did those experiences shape the story?
Well, to be honest, a lot of my ideas came from my super active imagination. But like every author, there were some inspirations and for Milestones specifically, I would have to say that my own camp experience was very influential. I went to um, what we’ll call “nerd camp” when I was 15 years old, had the time of my life, made amazing friends and lifelong memories which I would occasionally channel while writing Milestones.

2. There is definitely some mystery in Milestones but what are something readers should expect?

For one, expect to be surprised. The ending is a little different from the norm. Also expect to read about all the emotions and cynicism and craziness that goes along with having a crush who doesn’t know you exist. Finally, expect to read about a teenager’s evolution and personal growth.


3. How did you develop the character of Faye Martin?

Well, Faye is a very specific person and the reasons behind her personality and qualities become apparent near the end of the novel. But for the most part, she’s meant to be your average, ordinary, fourteen year old – who then turns out to be….well, NOT ordinary.


4. What was it like going from a Pediatrician to a YA author? What were some hurdles you had to overcome in the process?

The two careers don’t exactly go hand in hand. But I feel as though I’ve been a writer (in some way, shape or form) for all my life. So in a way, it felt natural. As far as hurdles are concerned, there is one major one: time! Or should I say the lack of time! I’ve had to become a professional multi-tasker in the last few years.


5.  What can we expect from the other two books in the series?

A lot! Truly, the story takes a few turns in books 2 and 3 of the trilogy. I can’t divulge too much but in a nutshell, the characters have a destiny to fulfill and in book 2, there is a rather giant obstacle that gets in the way of this fate. I can also say that it is not going to follow the formula people are expecting.


6.Texas is really, totally different from Seattle so what made you start there? Did you read up on the location before putting it in your book? What made you start out in Seattle?

You are very perceptive and to answer your question, yes, I read up a teeny bit on Seattle before deciding on the location. The main reason behind my decision was that I needed Faye to live in a city/state where thunderstorms would not be unusual. To be honest, Seattle is not like any of the places I’ve lived in (Paris, Toronto, the Caribbean, Detroitor Texas) so it was a bit unusual of me to pick that as a location in my book. But it had to be done!


7. What is Faye’s interest Benjamin Parker like? Is he swoon worthy?

Cute question! The answer is: it depends on your type! If your type is the silent, athletic, baseball-cap wearing, polo-shirt and jeans wearing, shy, yet handsome and intelligent type, then yes. He is definitely swoon-worthy. But Benjamin is also hard to read, hard to understand and a little secretive at times. Until of course, he falls in love. Then it all changes.


8. Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Absolutely. First and most importantly, never give up. You need to grow thick skin and be prepared for rejection but try to remember that every single author (even the super famous and successful ones) has had their share of rejection. It’s just part of the game. Next, don’t forget to ask for help when you’re feeling low or demoralized. You’d be surprised at how many people would be willing to read your work and give you advice and positive feedback and reinforcement. If you’re a serious writer, you will feel need the boost!


9. Is there anything else you’d like to add?

Thank you so much for having me Christina! It was super fun and you are running a great blog. Overall, I do hope people enjoy Milestones and if they do, I’d love to know about it!

*You can get more information about Samira and her book Milestones on her website here.


Giveaway!
So do you sound interested in Milestones? I know I am! Samira and her publiscist have been so wonderful as to grant one of you a free copy of Milestones! To enter this contest just comment on this post with your name and email telling us what you think anout the interview and/or Milestones! For extra entries...

+ 1 if you are a new follower
+2 if you are a current follower
+2 for tweeting about this giveaway, book or interview (but you must add @yotina_38 to the tweet)
+3 for posting about this interview/giveaway on your blog (side bars are acceptable!)

*The contest will end October, 2 at Midnight Central Time! U.S. residents only please!

BBAW Day 5- Flip The Page and My Goals!

Unfortunately, today is the end of BBAW! :( We are now supposed to say in 50 words or less what we like most about our blogs and where we'd like them be in a year from now! It's pretty hard putting something like that in 50 words or less but here we go...
My blog has come so far since the day I first started it. I had little time, patience but a whole lot of love for reading! Now it’s bloomed into this beautiful place where reading is home! In a year I’d like to see more followers and more passionate book readers!
So now that BBAW is over i will be posting alot more book reviews!
Coming up:
I Know It's Over by C.K. Kelly Martin
Generation Dead by Daniel Waters
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson
How It Ends by Laura Weiss
The Tear Collector by Patrick Jones
Secret Society by Tom Dolby
and many, many more!
Also, be sure to check out the Author Blog Tour i am participating in featuring Samira Armin Hodges author of Milestones! There will also be conducting my first giveaway where you can win a free copy of her debut novel Milestones, so be sure to check that out later today!
Sincerly,
Christina

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Playlist for Hate List!

Hate List
Listen To This!
Photobucket
My World- Sick Puppies
Black Hole Sun- Sound Garden
The Deep End- Scary Kids Scaring Kids
Circles- Hollywood Undead
R.I.P.- Bikini Kill

Hate List


Hate List
by Jennifer Brown
Rating: Great!
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 416

Synopsis


Five months ago, Valerie Leftman’s boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saves the life of a classmate, but is implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things they hated. The list her boyfriend used to pick his targets.

Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

Review

Hate List was an inspiring and sometimes emotionally rocky book to read. One minute you felt terrible for Valerie and the next you couldn’t help but hate her guts too. As you venture with her to the depths of her conscience and felt how she felt- about the shootings, about Nick, about the people who died and the girl whose life she saved- you somehow feel the urge to do something good in your life. It is a very uplifting novel with a lot of hard facts and tragic lessons.

Valerie is a new favorite character of mine, in some ways she reminds me of Melinda Sordino from Speak. After she comes back to school following the shooting, she finds her self even more alienated and even feared. Her pain is easy to see and the feeling of loss are understandable. Even though Nick was a killer, he was still her boyfriend and i also felt that Nick really did blind side her with the whole shooting thing. The inner emotional and moral battle she is fighting really tears the reader apart and you can relate to her loneliness and feeling of abandonment. The only character i didn't understand in this book was her dad. Seriously (and excuse my french here) he was an asshole! The wasy he treated her and blamed her for everything, really made me angry. Jessica, the girl whose life she saved, was really interesting. I really appreciated her willingness to change and you could totally applaud her for her efforts!

Hate List was utterly fantastic and very scary. It's similarities to the Columbine High School tradgedy will definitly strike a cord with any reader, especially teens. Lately, i've been reading alot of fantasy books, so Hate List was an excellent break from the paranormal and very real. Go out and ge it as soon as possible!

BBAW Day 4- The Book I Would've Never Known About!


Really, i need to shut my mouth about this book already! But, somehow inside of me i just can't do it!!! If it weren't for...oh, let me see... every freaking book blogger out there (because everyone has been talking about it!), i wouldn't have even known Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick even exsisted! It hasn't even came out yet and people can't seem to stop talking about it!! So here we go again...



Hush, Hush
by Becca Fitzpatrick

The Amazing Plot
For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

You can find my review for Hush, Hush here. Including my chosen playlist here.

Why I Love This Book So Much- I mean, who doesn't love this book? The suspense, the mystery, the mythology, the romance, Patch... It is the ultimate book and seriously one of the best i've read in a long time. Nora Grey is in no way you're typical girl with a tragic past and Patch is more then just your hot, brooding bad-boy! Becca Fitzpatrick has truly knocked me off my feet with this stunning debut!

As you know i tend to make playlist for all the books i review, Hush, Hush included. Since it's BBAW and were supposed to go all out i will post an extended version of that playlist today! Here you go...



Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones


Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Want It Wednesdays!

I Want...


Swoon
by Nina Malkin

Plot
Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing even happens in Swoon, Connecticut...until Dice's perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree and her spirit interwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge and while Pen is obvious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She's intesely drawn to him—but not at all crazy abolut the havoc he's wreaking.



Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible—adversary before the whole town succumbs to Sin's will. Only trouble is, she's in love with him.

What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?



Tricks
by Ellen Hopkins

Plot
Five teenagers from different parts of the country. Three girls. Two guys. Four straight. One gay. Some rich. Some poor. Some from great families. Some with no one at all. All living their lives as best they can, but all searching...for freedom, safety, community, family, love. What they don't expect, though, is all that can happen when those powerful little words "I love you" are said for all the wrong reasons.



Five moving stories remain separate at first, then interweave to tell a larger, powerful story — a story about making choices, taking leaps of faith, falling down, and growing up. A story about kids figuring out what sex and love are all about, at all costs, while asking themselves, "Can I ever feel okay about myself?"



BBAW: Day 3- Reading Meme!!


I'm supposed to answer these questions in five words or less but seriously it's pratically impossible!!! I'll try though!


1. Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?


When i'm really into a book I cannot under any circumstances stop reading it!

2. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of
writing in books horrify you?

If it's a really good quote but if not- "OH HELL NO!"

3. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

Absolutely no dog-ears at all!!!!!

4. Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Fiction more, biographies second and non-fiction last!

4. Hard copy or audiobooks?

Hard Copies are a dream!

5. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

At any point is fine:)
6.If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

No, i use context clues!

7. What are you currently reading?

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

8. What is the last book you bought?

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

9. Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

One book because i can never keep track of both plots!

10. Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

Any time is the best time!

11. Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

If the book sucks one is enough but if i just can't get enough i PRAY for a series!!!

12. Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

Ellen Hopkins... Ellen Hopkins... Ellen Hopkins!!!!

13. How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

They are scattered about my different colored, non-matching book shelves in perfect chaos! :)

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

So Memorable...

The Adoration of Jenna Fox
by Mary E. Pearson

Character: Jenna Fox
Quote: "Do certain events in our lives leave a permanent mark, freezing a piece of us in time, and that becomes a touchstone that we measure the rest of our lives against?"
Song Cry: Mad World by Tears For Fears or *Blindness by Metric

* I really couldn't choose one! I think Mad World more fits the situation and Blindness is more from Jenna Fox:)

BBAW Day 2- Interview Swap!

Unfortunately, the person who i was SUPPOSED to be doing the interview swap with, totally bailed on me! I mean like completely ignored my questions and didn't even bother to put up anything for BBAW:(  However, they did ask me some questions which i QUICKLY and PAINLESSLY answered! So instead of posting questions where i interview them i am just going to post the questions i answered for them. Sucks right? Oh well...

1. Would you say you were more interested in the techology behind creating the blog -and the extras- or was it the chance to talk about books that made you want to start Flip The Page! Book Reviews...?


I always like to say that Flip The Page! is just an extension of conversations I have with my friends about the books we love. It’s my favorite line when describing why I started it in the first place. The best part of my day is when I finish a really good book and immediately I want to go out and tell someone and I want to be able to influence other readers and share my passion for the books I read.



2. Have you always been a reader or did you become more of a reader once you started the blog?

I guess it’s kind of cliché to say that Twilight was actually the book to… like rejuvenate my interests in books, sure I had read a lot of books before and I actually enjoyed doing it to, but after I read Twilight I was kind of like “Man! I really love reading!” The circumstances in my life were kind of off before that so I didn’t seem to read as much but after I read Twilight I wanted it to become an everyday thing.



3. Do you have an all-time favorite book? A book that is a hit every time you suggest it? And what about a book that you thought was outstanding from the past year?

I love old, classic books! I read a lot of YA novels right now but the first book that really caught my attention was Call of the Wild by Jack London! I first read it in eighth grade and I felt like a total dork when I couldn’t wait to get to my Language Arts class just so I could read another chapter, it was really embarrassing! About three years ago I reconnected with the book after I found it in the books section at Goodwill- it was the best 99 cents I ever spent! A book that I recommended to all my friends was Burned by Ellen Hopkins! I literally cried the whole time I was reading it and most of the time I was there when my friends were reading the book too and I couldn’t help but smile when they started crying also! Becca Fitzpatrick recently blew my freaking socks off with her stunning debut Hush, Hush, I mean she basically wrote my dream characters and the plot was beyond amazing!



4. When you're not reading what do you like to do?

I am currently the captain of my schools Varsity volleyball team (Go Lady Lions!), so you could say that volleyball is definitely one of my passions! I love how I can just go out on the volleyball court and the rest of my life complete fades away! It lets me escape just like reading does! Another passion of mine is writing, it’s this amazing kind of thing where I can just channel all my emotions and ideas into this one story or work of poetry. It’s really relaxing and definitely something I can see as a future career!



5. Do all your friends read? Do they ask for suggestions all the time? Has a friend recommended something you wish *you* had found first?

Last year, before I started my blog was when I really got into reading so when I did start to read, my friends were always making fun and being silly about it. Then I would show them the book I was so into and they were like “Oh my god! Can I borrow that??” of course I let them so after that point we all kind of banded together and formed this unofficial book club, trading books and what not. Now my friends and I are constantly talking about books and it’s kind of like the glue that holds us all together! It’s really cool! One of my friends and I have this harmless little competition going on where we’ll try to beat each other out on who can find the better book. She recently introduced me to Identical by Ellen Hopkins and I let her borrow Hate List by Jennifer Brown.



6. Do you have a favorite author? or an author you avoid? And why?

Ellen Hopkins is definitely an author I love! Her books are so real and disturbing that whenever I hear about some new material coming from her I immediately jump at the chance to get my hands on it! Sarah Dessen of course is a god when I comes to YA novels, my favorite of hers are Dreamland and This Lullaby. Becca Fitzpatrick is another author that I’ll be looking out for now and I look forward to more of her work.



7. If you're getting ARCs (advanced reader copies) from publishers, how did that start? And the author interview was great, was it hard to get in touch with Ms. Zevin?
It was really hard getting into the whole ARC’s thing; I read a lot on it before I even began to send out requests. I only wanted to send out the requests when I KNEW that I would be able to read the books and I felt that my blog was at a good standing point. Usually I’m very shy and hate asking for help so I was kind of hesitant at first but then I saw how easy and helpful it was to the authors and my blog and I thought that I should give it a try. I’ve only been doing it for a little over a month but I’ve gotten great feedback and some amazing books. Now, I love connecting with the authors and getting to review there amazing books! I feel really appreciative that they take time to read my emails and interact with my even though they probably have a million better things to do!

Before I did ARC’s, I tried my hand at author interviews. It was really easy for me and I had fun making up the questions that I asked them. One of the authors that I really wanted to interview was Gabrielle Zevin, author of Elsewhere and Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac; I sent the questions out and crossed my fingers hoping she would reply. After weeks of waiting patiently I started losing hope but I understood that she was a really established author and was probably just really busy. Miraculously, I got this email from her long after I stopped expecting it and I was really thrilled that she took the times to actually answer them! It just goes to show that people surprise you in the most unexpected ways and I was really thankful that I got the chance to ask a really good author some of my own interesting questions!



8. What kind of advice would you give other teens who are inspired by your blog? What could/should they do to get started and any pitfalls to avoid?

It’s definitely not easy but it is really fun! When you feel like no one cares or if your not getting a lot of hits just stick it out because just maybe somewhere out there someone is watching you but just hasn’t addressed it yet! You never know who you’re inspiring with your opinions so don’t quit just because you feel neglected- most likely you’ve been noticed and someone does care!

If you want to start a blog, just search the many blogging communities for something that really inspires you! I started by spotting a very home-y, low profile blog that talked about a lot of books that I really loved. When I saw what they were doing I immediately wanted to partake in something so creative and incredible! Blogs like The Story Siren and Presenting Lenore had a lot of how-to-guides that severely helped me out when it came to starting up and the inner working of a blog.


One thing I would warn new bloggers about is negative criticism and taking advantage of author’s and ARC’s. I can’t stress enough about the last one. ARC’s are NOT a way to get free books but rather a way to broaden you and the author’s horizons, making it easier for people to read about their books while at the same time sparking a little interest in your blog. Nasty comments about your blog and readers who don’t agree with your opinions should just be ignored and really they shouldn’t even matter! Be above it!



9. Would you rather be an author or an editor? Or neither, because you're planning a career in....?

Like I said earlier, I love to write and I wouldn’t mind getting a book published and people falling in love with it! :) I’m more into the creative side of writing rather then the technical, analytical part, so actually writing a book definitely appeals more to me! Of course I would love to do ANYTHING with books so I would settle with anyone. I just love the idea of telling a story and people relating to it and enjoying it!



10. I there anything I failed to ask, that you want to add?

Basically I want people to love my blog because they love books and I want them to enjoy books more then anything else. I think reading is a really essential part of humanity, one of the most important things in this whole world so I’m glad to be connected with something so utterly vital to everyone!

Monday, September 14, 2009

BBAW: Day 1- It's Here!!!


So today we have to say a little something about the amazing blogs that we love that may have not made it on the shortlist! I am a new blogger and i completely understand how tough it is to get established as a popular book blogger seeing how there are so many thses days! Of course i dont mind not being that important as long as i get to share my story and the stories i love with all you guys!!

Here are some blogs i love that hopefully be recognized in due time!

B.A.M. Book Reviews!









Why I love It- B.A.M. Book Reviews is such a warm, home-y blog! They're not quite at the point where reading becomes more of a job then a hobby and the moderators are always friendly! It's small but it's great because they're real personal and don't feel like a million mailes away! The books are always great and they even update on YA movie news and other things!


That Teen Can Blog!

Why I Love It- Whenever i want to hear about a great new book that i would totally love i just check out That Teen Can Blog's Waiting on Wednesday or In My Mailbox! Their rating criteria is really straightforward and the opinions are always agreeable! Not to mention the killer layout and great content!
The Dreamer Reader!











Why I Love It-The best thing about Dreamer Reader is the writing hands down! It isn't to serious but at the same time it's very straight to the point! Interviews are awesome on this blog and the contests are always exciting! Waiting on Wednesdays always gives me good books because she not only says what she wants but also why she wants it!

Serenehours!








Why I love It- I love the frequent posts and many updates, not to mention they always have a lot to say! This is another blog where i can look to find a new book or up and coming author! The sidebars have a lot of helpful info and are full of useful junk (in a good way)!

Sunday, September 13, 2009

In My Mailbox (13)

I 've been making good use of my library card lately and am happy to say that i have a lot of books lined up to be read!

Recieved:



Voices of Dragons
by Carrie Vaughn

Plot
In a time of cell phones and modern technology, Dragons and Humans now live together, seperated by a treaty. But the peace can't last forever. Carrie's first young adult novel is just your typical "girl meets dragon" story. With bonus rock climbing and jet fighters!










Checked Out:

Sweethearts
by Sara Zarr


Plot
As children, Jennifer Harris and Cameron Quick were both social outcasts. They were also one another's only friend. So when Cameron disappears without warning, Jennifer thinks she's lost the only person who will ever understand her. Now in high school, Jennifer has been transformed. Known as Jenna, she's popular, happy, and dating, everything "Jennifer" couldn't be—-but she still can't shake the memory of her long-lost friend.
When Cameron suddenly reappears, they are both confronted with memories of their shared past and the drastically different paths their lives have taken.







Wings
by Aprilynne Pike

Plot
Laurel Sewell, the new girl in town, discovers a strange "zit" on her back, which blooms into a flower. With the help of her friend and growing love interest, David, with whom she entrusts this information, Laurel finds out that she is a faerie, and that faeries are really highly evolved plants. Tamani, her sexy faerie guardian, completes the love triangle, as he protects Laurel from encroaching dark forces and fills in the blanks about her past. As Laurel and David never muster much chemistry, her rocky journey of self-discovery is the main draw.








The Devouring
by Simon Holt

Plot
When Reggie finds an old journal and reads about the Vours, supernatural creatures who feast on fear and attack on the eve of the winter solstice, she assumes they are just the musings of some lunatic author. But soon, they become a terrifying reality when she begins to suspect that her timid younger brother might be one of their victims.


Risking her life and her sanity, Reggie enters a living nightmare to save the people she loves. Can she devour own her fears before they devour her?







Generation Dead
by Daniel Waters

Plot
Phoebe Kendall is just your typical Goth girl with a crush. He's strong and silent.and dead.


All over the country, a strange phenomenon is occurring. Some teenagers who die aren't staying dead. But when they come back to life, they are no longer the same. Feared and misunderstood, they are doing their best to blend into a society that doesn't want them.

The administration at Oakvale High attempts to be more welcoming of the "differently biotic." But the students don't want to take classes or eat in the cafeteria next to someone who isn't breathing. And there are no laws that exist to protect the "living impaired" from the people who want them to disappear-for good.

When Phoebe falls for Tommy Williams, the leader of the dead kids, no one can believe it; not her best friend, Margi, and especially not her neighbor, Adam, the star of the football team. Adam has feelings for Phoebe that run much deeper than just friendship; he would do anything for her. But what if protecting Tommy is the one thing that would make her happy?





I Know It's Over
by C.K. Kelly Martin

Plot
Pure. Unplanned. Perfect. Those were Nick’s summer plans before Sasha stepped into the picture. With the collateral damage from his parents’ divorce still settling and Dani (his girl of the moment) up for nearly anything, complications are the last thing he needs. All that changes, though, when Nick runs into Sasha at the beach in July. Suddenly he’s neck-deep in a relationship and surprised to find he doesn’t mind in the least. But Nick’s world shifts again when Sasha breaks up with him. Then weeks later, while Nick’s still reeling from the breakup, she turns up at his doorstep and tells him she’s pregnant, and Nick finds himself struggling once more to understand the girl he can’t stop caring for, the girl who insists that it’s still over.






The Adoration of Jenna Fox
by Mary E. Pearson

Plot
In a future America where overuse of antibiotics has led to the existence of super-bacteria that cannot be cured and genetic engineering has wiped out some species of plants, Jenna Fox was in a car accident. She doesn't remember the accident. In fact, she doesn't remember much of anything. And her parents aren't providing the answers she needs.


Jenna knows that they recently moved across the country. She knows that she used to have two best friends, but they're not around anymore. She knows that her grandmother seems to hate her, but she doesn't know why. And she knows that something fishy is going on.

Saturday, September 12, 2009

BBAW and some special announcements!

BBAW

BBAW is now in full swing! Voting has now opened and it's up to you to decide who gets some awesome awards! Go here to vote but hurry because it closes tomorrow (Saturday Sepember 12 at 11:59 am)!

This is my first BBAW and im happy to say that i'm actually really excited to post and read posts from all different kinds of bloggers!

Here is the schedule for BBAW, if you're wondering what will be going on during next week-

Monday September 14
The shortlists for the awards will be announced! Woohoo! You are supposed to make a post thanking and spotlighting blogs that you love that might now have made the BBAW shortlist!

Tuesday September 15
This is the day to post your interview swap! I've already got my interview ready and i can't wait to reveal to you the blog i interviewed!

Wednesday September 16
Reading Meme

Make sure you're creative this day! Try to answer thses questions in 5 words or less or maybe put a picture instead of an answer!
  • Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?
  • Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
  • How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
  • Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?
  • Hard copy or audiobooks?
  • Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
  • If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
  • What are you currently reading?
  • What is the last book you bought?
  • Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
  • Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?
  • Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?
  • Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
  • How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

Thursday September 17


This day you're supposed to write about a book you absolutely loved, but it has to be a book that you were introduced to because of another blog! You can also put in a little bit about the blog you discovered it from!


Friday September 18

Book Blogging Goals!
Write in 50 words or less what you like most about your blog and where you would like it to be by this time next year!

More News!!!

I really can't wait for next week but in the mean time i've got a couple of very cool announcements to make! As you might have already figured out i have been getting a wonderful out pour of support from authors and oublishers out there! Lately i've been reading my but off to read a heap load of ARC's that i just started recieving and really i wanted to say thank you to all the authors who have graciuosly cooperated with me and even offered a little bit more then just their book to review! I'm starting a great line up of Author Interviews soon including the authors Lauren Bjorkman author of My Invented Life, Stephanie Kuenhert author of Ballads of Suburbia, Christina Harner author of Behind Every Illusion and many MANY more! Look out for these great interviews coming up shortly!

Second of all- on September 18th i'll be participating in a blog tour featuring Samira Armin Hodges, author of the new novel Milestones! I'll also have an interview from her and will be having my first contest/giveaway! Another blog tour i will be participating in is one for the book Secret Society's author Tom Dolby in which i will be giving away 25 "very cool temporary tattoos with the ankh sign on them"! I will be reviewing the book Secret Society and posting an Author Interview with him to top it off!

I'm so excited for this latest news that i can barely keep a lid on it! Hopefully everyone will ahve a great time with it and you will enjoy it as much as i have!

Sincerly Yours,
Christina <3







Playlist for Heavenly!

Heavenly
Listen To This!
Photobucket
These Walls- Teddy Gieger
Undone- Kat Tingey 
You Found Me- The Fray
Once You Loved Somebody- Dixie Chicks
Do You Realize- The Flaming Lips

Heavenly


Heavenly

by Jennifer Laurens
Rating: Great!
Difficulty: Normal
Pages: 280

Synopsis
"I met someone who changed everything.
Matthias. My autistic sister's guardian angel.
Honest. Inspiring. Funny.
Hot.
And immortal. That was the problem.
What could I do?
I did what any other girl would do-I fell in love with him."

Zoe's sister darts in front of cars. Her brother's a pothead. Her parents are so overwhelmed; they don't see Zoe lost in her broken life. Zoe escapes the only way she knows how: partying. Matthias, a guardian sent from Heaven, watches over Zoe's autistic sister. After Zoe is convinced he's legit, angel and lost girl come together in a love that changes destiny. But Heaven on Earth can't last forever.




Review
Heavenly is a dreamy picture of falling in love with perfection. Heaven never seemed so real in my eyes and guardian angels never seemed so hot. Yes, hot!

Zoe is a lost soul, trapped in a family where her younger sister is autistic and her brother is addicted to pot. She feels like there is no way out so to escape she confides in partying, drinking and boys. She indulges in the life of a sinner until she meets Matthias, a guardian angel sent down from heaven to protect her autistic sister from harm.

Zoe’s character is very believable and Jennifer Lauren’s writing is spot on to the dialogue of today’s teens. Zoe’s conversations seem like real conversations that I would have with my friends any day of the week. Her partying is convincing too because a lot of teens would exchange there troubling or otherwise stressful circumstances for a sinful fun also. I love how Zoe is torn between doing right and wrong because there is nothing like an inner tug of war. She gets pushed and pulled in the direction of protective older sister and carefree teenager. I really sympathize for her.


The way Jennifer Laurens describes Matthias, he really does sound like a dream. His perfect, blue eyes and his adorable toffee hair- it all seems unreal. That’s why its totally understandable that Zoe doesn’t know how to feel about him right away. I would sure think I was crazy if I saw some random guy and no one else could see him! Even besides his incredibly handsome looks- Matthias is a well rounded character with a lot of positive attributes yet a mysterious and intriguing past. He leaves you wanting more every time Zoe gets to talk about him, so you feel her pain when he has to leave her for a little bit.

The plot is stunning, with a lot of funny, sleazy and interesting characters to get to know. With every page you find something new and exciting, there’s never a dull moment where your just waiting for the good part to start. There is also a great message snuck inside there that teaches us about family, love, friendship and faith. It’s an overall great book and I really recommend it to anyone with interest in the whole angel/forbidden love thing!

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Want It Wednesdays!!

Want It...

Photobucket
Forgive My Fins
by Tera Lynn Childs

Plot
Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it’s not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you’re a normal teenage girl, but when you’re half human, half mermaid like Lily, there’s no such thing as a simple crush.


Lily’s mermaid identity is a secret that can’t get out, since she’s not just any mermaid – she’s a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn’t feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she’s been living on land and going to Seaview high school ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems – like her obnoxious, biker boy neighbor Quince Fletcher – but it has that one major perk – Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren’t really the casual dating type – when they “bond,” it’s for life.

When Lily’s attempt to win Brody’s love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily-ever-after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned. [close]



Photobucket

The Poison Eaters and Other Stories
by Holly Black

Plot
In her debut collection, New York Times best-selling author Holly Black returns to the world of Tithe in two darkly exquisite new tales. Then Black takes readers on a tour of a faerie market and introduces a girl poisonous to the touch and another who challenges the devil to a competitive eating match. These stories have been published in anthologies such as 21 Proms, The Faery Reel, and The Restless Dead, and have been reprinted in many 'Best of' anthologies. The Poison Eaters is Holly Black's much-anticipated first collection of stories, and her ability to stare into the void - and to find humanity and humor there - will speak to young adult and adult readers alike.






Photobucket

Something Like Fate
by Susane Colasanti

Plot
I don't know what its about but it looks juicy and i love Susane Colasanti!
Related Posts with Thumbnails