Saturday, October 31, 2009

In My Mailbox...(19) Back in Action!

YAY!!!! I am officially ungrounded as of 8 o'clock yesterday morning! It was two brutal and agonizing weeks and now its over forever! I know i have been unmercifully neglecting my little blog but have no fear! The only thing that i was really allowed to do while being grounded was read so thankfully i got like a million books done on my TBR pile! I have a lot of crazy good book reviews coming up so stay tuned!


Here are the books i got in the mail this week! I'm trying a new approach to In My Mailbox because the other way was definitly a bit strenous to say the least. So here it goes!


Here's a little about the books, moving clockwise!

The Sky Is Everywhere
by Jandy Nelson

Plot
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

(I've been looking everywhere for this book because i'm really excited to read it, so when i finally found it i was super relieved! It got to my house super duper fast!)

Never After
by Dan Elconin

Plot
Leaving everything behind for the Island was Ricky's dream come true. When his happily ever after is not quite what it seems, he discovers that running away means running toward bigger problems.


Trapped on the Island, Ricky must join together with the only people he can trust to help him face his fears and return home. But the only way off the Island is to confront the person who trapped Ricky and his friends in the first place. With countless enemies and true peril staring them down, Ricky's mission to leave this so-called paradise will become a battle for their very lives.

(I barely realized that this was a super twist on Peter Pan! So now i'm like double excited to read it! And the author is only 19 which is really admirable to!)

Touched by a Vampire
by Beth Felker Jones

Plot
People around the world are asking the same question, enraptured with Edward and Bella’s forbidden romance in the Twilight Saga, a four-book serial phenomenon written by Stephenie Meyer. The bestsellers tell the story of a regular girl’s relationship with a vampire who has chosen to follow his “good” side. But the Saga isn’t just another fantasy–it’s teaching girls about love, sex, and purpose. With 48 million copies in print and a succession of upcoming blockbuster films, now is the time to ask the important question: Can vampires teach us about God’s plan for love?
Touched by a Vampire is the first book to investigate the themes of the Twilight Saga from a Biblical perspective. Some Christian readers have praised moral principles illustrated in the story, such as premarital sexual abstinence, which align with Meyer’s Mormon beliefs. But ultimately, Beth Felker Jones examines whether the story’s redemptive qualities outshine its darkness.

Cautionary, thoughtful, and challenging, Touched by a Vampire is written for Twilight fans, parents, teachers, and pop culture enthusiasts. It includes an overview of the series for those unfamiliar with the storyline and a discussion guide for small groups.

(I won this from First Reads on Goodreads and i've been reading little tid bits here and there, it's really interesting and it's basically looking at the whole Twilight Saga from a more biblical perspective! Its really cool and gives you a lot to think about!)

Secret Society
by Tom Dolby

Plot
An eccentric new girl. A brooding socialite. The scion of one of New York's wealthiest families. A promising filmmaker. As students at the exclusive Chadwick School, Phoebe, Lauren, Nick, and Patch already live in a world most teenagers only dream about.
They didn't ask to be Society members. But when three of them receive a mysterious text message promising success and fame beyond belief, they say yes to everything—even to the harrowing initiation ceremony in a gritty warehouse downtown and to the ankh-shaped tattoo they're forced to get on the nape of their necks. Once they're part of the Society, things begin falling into place for them. Week after week, their ambitions are fulfilled. It's all perfect—until a body is found in Central Park with no distinguishing marks except for an ankh-shaped tattoo.


(I already have a hardcover copy of this book so i might, possibly, definitly, maybe be giving this away soon! Confused? lol)

Front and Center
by Catherine Murdock

Plot
After five months of sheer absolute craziness I was going back to being plain old background D.J. In photographs of course I'm always in the background...


But it turns out other folks have big plans for D.J. Like her coach. College scouts. All the town hoops fans. A certain Red Bend High School junior who's keen for romance and karaoke. Not to mention Brian Nelson, who she should not be thinking about! Who she is done with, thank you very much. But who keeps showing up anyway...


(I haven't read the first two books in this series but im definitly looking forward to it!)

The View from the Top
by Hillary Frank

Plot
It's basically a story from five different points of view that are all connected together by another character Annabelle! Its really late right now and im not up to typing out the whole descreption myself but i will type it up once i read and review it which will be soon!

(I've heard absolutely nothing about this book but as soon as i got it i was super excited to read it! But it looks super cool...)





Photobucket

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Hate List Contest!!!!! Ends October 30th!

I know last week i said there's only one week left but oops! i had a little typo! :) Forgive me? This time i am for real! One week ladies and gentleman!!! Oh and P.S. my computer IS working now but being that i am still a teenager and my parents are in fact out to get me i am grounded UFN- until further notice! I am actually sneaking behind my parents back (they are at a baby shower!) to post this and my IMM!! Anywho...enter the contest please unless you don't want an autographed copy of Hate List by Jennifer Brown(which i know is not true!)!
Photobucket

In My Mailbox...(18)

I got a bunch of awesome books this week! If reviews are soming a little slow im really, really sorry! My TBR pile is just stacking up on me and im doing my best to read as fast and much as i can!!! So here we go...




Fallen
by Lauren Kate

Plot
There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.


Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce--and goes out of his way to make that very clear--she can't let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.




A Map of The Known World
by Lisa Ann Sandell

Plot
Cora Bradley dreams of escape. Ever since her reckless older brother, Nate, died in a car crash, Cora has felt suffocated by her small town and high school. She seeks solace in drawing beautiful maps, envisioning herself in exotic locales. When Cora begins to fall for Damian, the handsome, brooding boy who was in the car with Nate the night he died, she uncovers her brother's secret artistic life and realizes she had more in common with him than she ever imagined. With stunning lyricism, Sandell weaves a tale of one girl's journey through the redemptive powers of art, friendship, and love.


They say no land remains to be discovered, no continent is left unexplored. But the whole world is out there, waiting, just waiting for me. I want to do things-I want to walk the rain-soaked streets of London, and drink mint tea in Casablanca. I want to wander the wastelands of the Gobi desert and see a yak. I think my life's ambition is to see a yak. I want to bargain for trinkets in an Arab market in some distant, dusty land. There's so much. But, most of all, I want to do things that will mean something.






Song of the Sparrow
by Lisa Ann Sandell

Plot
Since the days of King Arthur, there have been poems and paintings created in her name. She is Elaine of Ascolat, the Lady of Shalott, and now there is a book all her own. The year is 490 A.D. and 16-year-old Elaine has a temperament to match her fiery red hair. Living on a military base with her father, brothers, and the rest of Arthur's army, Elaine pines for the handsome Lancelot, and longs for a female friend. But when the cruel, beautiful Gwynivere arrives, Elaine is confronted with startling emotions of jealousy and rivalry. Can Elaine find the strength to survive the birth of a kingdom?









Boys, Girls and Other Hazardous Material
by Rosalind Wiseman

Plot
Looking for a new beginning after a terrible mean girl past, Charlie Healey realizes there's no escaping high school drama.


Charlie Healey thinks Harmony Falls is the beginning of a whole new life. Middle school was brutal. But high school is Charlie's big chance to start over and stay out of drama, except that on her first day she runs into Will, her ex–best friend, who had moved away. Now a varsity athlete and hotter than Charlie remembered, Will hangs with the crowd running the school. But Charlie doesn't understand their power until an innocent delivery guy falls victim to a near-deadly hazing prank.

Torn between doing what's right and her secret feelings for Will, Charlie must decide whether to turn in her very best friend or live with the guilt of knowing what he did.




The Expessologist
by Kristina Springer

Plot
What’s your drink of choice? Is it a small pumpkin spice latte? Then you’re lots of fun and a bit sassy. Or a medium americano? You prefer simplicity in life. Or perhaps it’s a small decaf soy sugar-free hazelnut caffe latte? Some might call you a yuppie. Seventeen-year-old barista Jane Turner has this theory that you can tell a lot about a person by their regular coffee drink. She scribbles it all down in a notebook and calls it Espressology. So it’s not a totally crazy idea when Jane starts hooking up some of her friends based on their coffee orders. Like her best friend, Em, a medium hot chocolate, and Cam, a toffee nut latte. But when her boss, Derek, gets wind of Jane’s Espressology, he makes it an in-store holiday promotion, promising customers their perfect matches for the price of their favorite coffee. Things are going better than Derek could ever have hoped, so why is Jane so freaked out? Does it have anything to do with Em dating Cam? She’s the one who set them up! She should be happy for them, right?





The Secret Year
by Jennifer Hubbard

Plot
Take Romeo and Juliet. Add The Outsiders. Mix thoroughly.


Colt and Julia were secretly together for an entire year, and no one—not even Julia's boyfriend— knew. They had nothing in common, with Julia in her country club world on Black Mountain and Colt from down on the flats, but it never mattered. Until Julia dies in a car accident, and Colt learns the price of secrecy. He can't mourn Julia openly, and he's tormented that he might have played a part in her death. When Julia's journal ends up in his hands, Colt relives their year together at the same time that he's desperately trying to forget her. But how do you get over someone who was never yours in the first place?





Night Runner (won from Kristi at The Story Siren! Thanks a bunch!! )
by Max Turner

Plot
For Zack Thomson, living in the Nicholls Ward isn't so bad. After his parents died, he developed strange and severe allergies, and the mental institution was the only place where he could be properly looked after. As strange as it was, it was home. He could watch as much television as he wanted; his best friend Charlie visited him often enough; and Nurse Ophelia--the prettiest no-nonsense nurse ever--sometimes took him bowling. Of course, that didn't mean he had it easy. His allergies restricted his diet to strawberry smoothies, and being the only kid at the hospital could get lonely. But it never once crossed Zack's mind to leave...until the night someone crashed through the front doors and told him to run. Now he's on a race for answers--about his past, his parents, and his strange sickness--even as every step takes him closer to the darkest of truths.




Embellish
by R.L. Sloan

Plot
As a young girl, Solis Burkes is raped at the hands of ruthless school bullies-an incident that haunts her into young adulthood. Then she meets Nacio, a strikingly handsome man who seems to know everything about her-including the painful past Solis hasn't told anyone about. But what Solis doesn't know is that Nacio has been with her every step of the way, protecting her ever since that fateful episode.


It's a destiny he's been working up to for the last 257 years.
Now, as Solis enters a dark world of vampires, voodoo, and passion, she'll need all the protection she can get. Unbeknownst to her, those responsible for Solis's rape have returned. Connected to the evil voodoo Priestess Aldicia, they'll stop at nothing in their plans to spew violence and mayhem throughout the city. And an old family feud dating back centuries puts Solis first on their list of targets. But not if Solis can unravel the clues fast enough, and inflict her own brand of revenge...



The Heretic Queen
by Michelle Moran

Plot
In ancient Egypt, a forgotten princess must overcome her family’s past and remake history.


The winds of change are blowing through Thebes. A devastating palace fire has killed the Eighteenth Dynasty’s royal family–with the exception of Nefertari, the niece of the reviled former queen, Nefertiti. The girl’s deceased family has been branded as heretical, and no one in Egypt will speak their names. Nefertari is pushed aside, an unimportant princess left to run wild in the palace. But this changes when she is taken under the wing of the Pharaoh’s aunt, then brought to the Temple of Hathor, where she is educated in a manner befitting a future queen.

Soon Nefertari catches the eye of the Crown Prince, and despite her family’s history, they fall in love and wish to marry. Yet all of Egypt opposes this union between the rising star of a new dynasty and the fading star of an old, heretical one. While political adversity sets the country on edge, Nefertari becomes the wife of Ramesses the Great. Destined to be the most powerful Pharaoh in Egypt, he is also the man who must confront the most famous exodus in history.




Bleeding Violet
by Dia Reeves

Plot
Love can be a dangerous thing....


Hanna simply wants to be loved. With a head plagued by hallucinations, a medicine cabinet full of pills, and a closet stuffed with frilly, violet dresses, Hanna's tired of being the outcast, the weird girl, the freak. So she runs away to Portero, Texas in search of a new home.

But Portero is a stranger town than Hanna expects. As she tries to make a place for herself, she discovers dark secrets that would terrify any normal soul. Good thing for Hanna, she's far from normal. As this crazy girl meets an even crazier town, only two things are certain: Anything can happen and no one is safe...


Photobucket

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Want It Wednesday!

My computer is so totally broke right now that i'm afraid getting reviews done might seem incredibly imposssible! But i will try to get my memes out during school and i will also try to get at least one review done every week! Sorry for the inconveniece!




Incarceron

by Catherine Fisher

Plot
Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a seventeen-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. Very few prisoners believe that there is an Outside, however, which makes escape seems impossible.


And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl named Claudia. She claims to live Outside—she is the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, and doomed to an arranged marriage. Finn is determined to escape the prison and Claudia believes she can help him. But they don't realize that there is more to Incarceron than meets the eye, and escape will take their greatest courage and cost more than they know. Because Incarceron is alive.




The Dark Divine

Bree Despain

Plot
Grace Divine, daughter of the local pastor, always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappeared—the night she found her brother Jude collapsed on the porch, covered in blood. But she has no idea what a truly monstrous secret that night really held. And when Daniel returns three years later, Grace can no longer deny her attraction to him, despite promising Jude she’ll stay away.


As Grace gets closer to Daniel, her actions stir the ancient evil Daniel unleashed that horrific night. Grace must discover the truth behind Jude and Daniel's dark secret . . . and the cure that can save the ones she loves. But she may have to lay down the ultimate sacrifice to do it—her soul.







Photobucket

Friday, October 16, 2009

One Week Left to Win a Signed Copy of Hate List!

Yup! That's right! There is only on week left to win an autographed copy of Hate List by Jennifer Brown! Click the link on the upper left hand corner of my blog and enter to win!! Hurry!

Photobucket

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Want It Wednesdays:)

Okay so it's something old and something new! Both of these books look really amazing! Watcha think??



Shadow Hills
by Anastasia Hopcus

Plot
Since her sister’s mysterious death, Persephone “Phe” Archer has been plagued by a series of disturbing dreams. Determined to find out what happened to her sister, Phe enrolls at Devenish Prep in Shadow Hills, Massachusetts—the subject of her sister’s final diary entry.



After stepping on campus, Phe immediately realizes that there’s something different about this place—an unexplained epidemic that decimated the town in the 1700s, an ancient and creepy cemetery, and gorgeous boy Zach—and somehow she’s connected to it all.


But the more questions she asks and the deeper she digs, the more entangled Phe becomes in the haunting past of Shadow Hills. Finding what links her to this town…might cost her her life.





Audrey, Wait!
by Robin Benway

Plot
When funny, charming, absolutely-normal Audrey Cuttler dumps her boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that becomes a number-one hit—and rockets Audrey to stardom!



Suddenly, tabloid paparazzi are on her tail and Audrey can barely hang with her friends at concerts or the movies without getting mobbed—let alone score a date with James, her adorable coworker at the Scooper Dooper. Her life will never be the same—at least, not until Audrey confronts Evan live on MTV and lets the world know exactly who she is!





Photobucket

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Author Interview: Becca Fitzpatrick!

Becca Fitzpatrick author of Hush, Hush

In honor of the most anticipated release of Becca's debut novel Hush, Hush (which is out now!! Go buy it!) How fitting would it be to have her on Flip The Page! answering some of my questions for YOU- the reader! So if you regularly read my blog you must know how much I LOVE Hush, Hush! So here's a little something about what is sure to be your new favorite book of the year!



Hush, Hush
by Becca Fitzpatrick

Plot
For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.



With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.


But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.


For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.


Interview


1. I thought the fallen angel concept was really interesting and original! How did you come about this subject and what made you want to write about it?

Truth be told, I didn't set out to write about fallen angels. When I started Hush, Hush, I knew I wanted Patch to be the ultimate bad boy...but with a twist. He hadn't always been bad. In fact, at one point, he'd been really good, and something had caused this big change. While pondering what had caused Patch's fall from grace, the metaphor of “falling” that I was carrying around in my head became something quite literal – a fallen angel. Since I already knew Patch was going to be the ultimate bad boy, this revelation seemed perfect – after all, fallen angels are the original bad boys!



2. What was it like developing the main characters of Hush, Hush? What kind of person did you want to portray when you wrote Nora and Patch?

I didn't really feel like I had to develop Patch – he showed up on day one in full personality. Nora was harder. In the early drafts, she was almost as cocky and self-assured as Patch, and it just wasn't working. I finally ditched her old character, name included, and started over. In the end, I'm very happy with Nora. She's the yin to Patch's yang.


3. Patch is the ultimate bad boy with a dark side but tell us what’s really going on in his head!

Oh man, I wish I knew! Patch is such a mystery, even to me. I think he's trying to do the right thing, but it really goes against his nature. Being a guardian angel is going to try his patience – he's not good at following rules or dealing with bureaucracy. I think he's going to be one of those characters we're never quite sure we can trust. He wants what's best for Nora, but his ways of going about securing that aren't always the most ethical. Let's just say his moral code is a little blurry.


4.Vee Sky adds just enough comedic punch in the novel to ease the intensity- what was the inspiration for this character?

I didn't realize this while I was writing her character, but when my family read the book, they all pointed out how similar Vee is to two of my childhood friends. Of course they were right! I think the moral of this story is pretty clear: if we've crossed paths in the past, you just might end up in my next book.


5. There are so many sub-stories in this novel- Jules and Elliot, the stalker, Miss Greene/Dabria, Nora’s fallen angel bloodline- What was it like connecting all these stories and what significance do they have with the second novel Crescendo?

Laughing...it took many drafts to get all of the threads to come together in the end. Plotting is hard – don't let anyone tell you otherwise :). As for how things will play out in Crescendo, the focus of the storyline is two-fold: the mystery of what really happened the night Nora's dad was murdered, and the challenges Patch and Nora's relationship will face. The book focuses more on Nephilim, which means if I'm lucky enough to get to write a third book, it (book 3) will focus more on angels.


6.  The novel seems to have the perfect balance of romance and suspense but was there anything of those two categories that you would’ve liked to put in but didn’t get to? Like more of Nora and Patch connecting/not connecting? Or more mystery and thrills?

That's the great thing about writing a series – not everything has to be revealed between the covers of one book. Crescendo will definitely explore more of Patch and Nora's relationship, and the danger is increased a notch...or two.


7. Why do you think you’re novel is worth reading? What do you think sets Hush, Hush apart from all the other YA novels coming out?

I think Hush, Hush has a lot going for it – there's a seductive romance, a mystery to be solved, and a dash of (hopefully!) fresh mythology. For readers who're looking for a blend of genres, I'm hoping they'll give Hush, Hush a shot.


8. You made a playlist for Hush, Hush with music by The Smiths (favorite band ever!), Pixies, Led Zeppelin and many more. What other bands/types of music inspired you while writing Hush, Hush?

My boyfriend in college loved The Smiths and introduced me to them, so I have him to thank. But back to the question. I listened to The Phantom of the Opera soundtrack often during the plotting stages of the book. I'm crazy about that soundtrack. Maybe if Hush, Hush is made into a movie, Andrew Lloyd Webber will write the score...hey, I can dream!


9. What are some great books you’re looking forward to reading or have already read?

The Angel's Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Fade by Lisa McMann, Ice by Sarah Beth Durst, Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins and The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey.


I can't help but say thank you to Becca for letting me badger her with these probably all to familiar questions! It's a really freakin awesome moment when i get to interview a highly amazing author with such great potential! You better believe i'll be watching out for more of her work! And you should be too!


You can see my review of Hush, Hush here.
You can listen to my playlist for Hush, Hush here.
You can also check out the post i did for BBAW about this book with an extended playlist here.

If you wanna know more about Becca and the Fallen Angels Series you can go to her blog or her web page!


Photobucket

Sunday, October 11, 2009

In My Mailbox...(17)

I was feeling a bit down this week so i went out and got a ton of books from the library! Nothing better then a few books to lighten up your mood!



Tantalize
by Cynthia Leitich Smith


Plot
Quincie Morris has never felt more alone. Her parents are dead, and her hybrid-werewolf first love is threatening to embark on a rite of passage that will separate them forever. Then, as she and her uncle are about to unveil their hot vampire-themed restaurant, a brutal murder leaves them scrambling for a chef. Can Quincie transform their new hire into a culinary Dark Lord before opening night? Can he wow the crowd in his fake fangs, cheap cape, and red contact lenses — or is there more to this earnest face than meets the eye? As human and preternatural forces clash, a deadly love triangle forms, and the line between predator and prey begins to blur. Who’s playing whom? And how long can Quincie play along before she loses everything? TANTALIZE marks Cynthia Leitich Smith’s delicious debut as a preeminent author of dark fantasy.





Graceling
by Kristin Cashore

Plot
Graceling takes readers inside the world of Katsa, a warrior-girl in her late teens with one blue eye and one green eye. This gives her haunting beauty, but also marks her as a Graceling. Gracelings are beings with special talents—swimming, storytelling, dancing. Katsa's Grace is considered more useful: her ability to fight (and kill, if she wanted to) is unequaled in the seven kingdoms. Forced to act as a henchman for a manipulative king, Katsa channels her guilt by forming a secret council of like-minded citizens who carry out secret missions to promote justice over cruelty and abuses of power.






Life As We Knew It
by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Plot
Miranda is a normal 16-year-old girl whose main concerns in life are schoolwork, swim meets and whether or not she will be asked to the prom. But Miranda's world is literally ripped apart when an asteroid hits the moon, shifts it from its orbit and throws the earth into chaos. Millions die due to tsunamis and earthquakes. Millions more perish because of an early, devastatingly cold winter, brought about by ash thrown into the atmosphere by hundreds of volcanic eruptions. The story, told through a series of entries in Miranda's journal, chronicles the heroine's and her family's efforts to survive in a world where staying warm and having enough to eat and drink becomes the day-to-day priority.





Need
by Carrie Jones

Plot
Zara collects phobias the way other girls collect Facebook friends. Little wonder, since life’s been pretty rough so far. Her father left, her stepfather just died, and her mother’s pretty much checked out. Now Zara’s living with her grandmother in sleepy, cold Maine so that she stays “safe.” Zara doesn’t think she’s in danger; she thinks her mother can’t deal.


Wrong. Turns out that guy she sees everywhere, the one leaving trails of gold glitter, isn’t a figment of her imagination. He’s a pixie—and not the cute, lovable kind with wings. He’s the kind who has dreadful, uncontrollable needs. And he’s trailing Zara.




I Am Legend 
by Richard Matheson  

Plot
Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth...but he is not alone. Every other man, woman, and child on Earth has become a vampire, and they are all hungry for Neville's blood.


By day, he is the hunter, stalking the sleeping undead through the abandoned ruins of civilization. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for dawn.

How long can one man survive in a world of vampires?





Blood and chocolate
by Annette Curtis Klause
Plot
Vivian Gandillon relishes the change, the sweet, fierce ache that carries her from girl to wolf. At sixteen, she is beautiful and strong, and all the young wolves are on her tail. But Vivian still grieves for her dead father; her pack remains leaderless and in disarray, and she feels lost in the suburbs of Maryland. She longs for a normal life. But what is normal for a werewolf?


Then Vivian falls in love with a human, a meat-boy. Aiden is kind and gentle, a welcome relief from the squabbling pack. He's fascinated by magic, and Vivian longs to reveal herself to him. Surely he would understand her and delight in the wonder of her dual nature, not fear her as an ordinary human would.

Vivian's divided loyalties are strained further when a brutal murder threatens to expose the pack. Moving between two worlds, she does not seem to belong in either. What is she really—human or beast? Which tastes sweeter—blood or chocolate?

Photobucket






Review Playlist!


Here is the music I mentioned this week in my reviews!

Photobucket

Sweethearts by Sara Zarr-

Find A Way by Safety Suit and Make It With You by Bread

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson-

Mad World by Tears for Fears and Savin' Me by Nickelback

Swoon by Nina Malkin-

Hang Me Up To Dry by Cold War Kids and Love, Hate, Love by Alice In Chains


Diary of a Witness by Catherine Ryan Hyde-

Loser by Beck



Photobucket

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Author Interview: Jennifer Brown

Jennifer Brown author of Hate List




Today, I have Jennifer Brown, the talented writer of the inspiring novel Hate List! You can see my review of Hate List here. You can see my personal playlist for the book here. AND im giving away a signed copy of Hate List here! Enjoy the interview!

1. Was the Columbine High School tragedy somehow linked to your writing process?

No, not at all. Never in my mind's eye was I writing about Columbine or any other real-life school shooting. I would never presume to understand at all what it was like to be in the place of those people who lived through Columbine, or those people who lost a loved one in Columbine. And there are some very real differences between the shooting in Hate List and the one in Columbine (a single shooter versus two shooters, for instance, and also no use of explosives in Hate List, etc.).


2. Valerie's inner battle can be described as confused and hurt- what was it like entering her mind and writing her character?

No doubt about it, Valerie's mind was a very dark place to be. At first, she was very unpleasant to be around, but I knew she had the potential to reach out and to get better. I knew it would be tough for her, but absolutely possible. Because I could always see the good in Valerie, it wasn't too difficult to enter her mind -- I knew her sweet, vulnerable side.


3. Was there anything you wanted your readers to take away from reading Hate List?

Absolutely! I wanted readers to take away the notion that they can change hate by reaching out like Jessica (and eventually Valerie) did. I wanted them to look at something that seems so simple at first blush and see that there are so many fuzzy lines there, it's almost impossible to tell what's the truth. And I wanted readers to come away from the story hopeful, which sounds weird, given the subject matter, but I do think it's possible to come out of darkness... hopeful.


4. Death, divorce and friendship are all important topics in this book. What was the hardest/easiest thing to write about?

They're all difficult subjects to take on. It's never easy to describe carnage, even if it's made-up carnage, you know? Probably I had the "easiest" time writing about the divorce. Not "easy" like it wasn't emotionally heavy for me, but "easy" like I've lived through it and didn't really have to stretch myself to describe it from both the parents' and Valerie's points of view (and, no, Valerie's parents aren't my parents).

The friendship, on the other hand, was difficult for me to write, because I've always found female friendships to be difficult and confusing and ultimately very rewarding... but in a difficult and confusing sort of way. :-)



5. Reading Hate List was very emotional for me. What was it like writing Hate List?

Emotional as well, but probably not quite as emotional as the reading of it. I was very surprised the first time I learned that HATE LIST was a tear-jerker for some (most?) readers. I guess since I always knew how it would ultimately end up, I didn't find it quite as sad. Of course, any time you're writing about tragedy, though -- especially tragedy involving young people -- there's sadness involved. Or maybe more fear than sadness.


6. What are your favorite books and/or literary characters?

My favorite book of all time is The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck because it is about the perseverance of man in the face of really horrible odds. That's a theme that really resonates with me.

I read constantly, and I'll read anything. I don't have a "favorite genre" or a "favorite author" -- it just doesn't work that way for me. I have authors who really impress me -- Gail Giles, John Green, Jay Asher -- and books that really impress me, but I shy away from having favorites that could keep me from reaching out and finding new great stuff to read.

That said, I love to read debut novels (because I think that's when the author's voice is freshest and most vulnerable) and I love to read classics. The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway... changed my life.


7. Are you working on anything at the moment?

Yes, I'm almost finished writing my next YA book -- hoping to see it come out in Spring 2011.


8. Is there anything you'd like to add?

Thank you so much for having me on your blog, Christina! I love YA readers!!!

Photobucket

Friday, October 9, 2009

Sweethearts



Sweethearts
by Sara Zarr
Rating: Incredible!
Pages: 217
Publishing Date: January 2009 
Song Cry: Find A Way by Safety Suit and Make It With You by Bread




Synopsis

As children, Jennifer Harris and Cameron Quick were both social outcasts. They were also one another's only friend. So when Cameron disappears without warning, Jennifer thinks she's lost the only person who will ever understand her. Now in high school, Jennifer has been transformed. Known as Jenna, she's popular, happy, and dating, everything "Jennifer" couldn't be—-but she still can't shake the memory of her long-lost friend.


When Cameron suddenly reappears, they are both confronted with memories of their shared past and the drastically different paths their lives have taken.


Review

When i first picked up Sweethearts i thought i was gonna run into a sweet love lost love found story but oh how i was wrong! Jennifer and Cameron were not the lovebirds i pictured in my head when i read the back of the book, they had depth and they had problems and i felt myself falling in love with them. Jennifer is an interesting character just because i could feel her awkwardness and her willingness to please. Really she was just a little girl who didn't want to be tortured and that was easy to understand.

Cameron was actually the cutest but saddest thing i ever imagined, i could see his big ol' eyes and his love for Jennifer. He seemed like a really heart breaking characted that you found yourself routing for emotionally and intellectually. Everything about him seemed really fragile and it definitly made you understand him more.

Another thing that was interesting to see unfold was the relationship between Jennifer and Cameron. You didn't really know if it was a love love thing or just a brother sister thing, it was really hard to decipher but it came more clear towards the ending. The things that's really sad about these two is that they only had each other when they were kids so when they got older and were without each other they were molded into completely different people. Sweethearts is not your everyday love story and Sara Zarr really knew how to pick at teenage relationships and the power of a best friend.





Photobucket

Thursday, October 8, 2009

The Adoration of Jenna Fox



The Adoration of Jenna Fox
by Mary E. Pearson
Rating: Incredible
Pages: 272
Publishing Date: April 2008 
Song Cry: Mad World by Tears for Fears and Savin' Me by Nickelback 


Synopsis

Sometime in the near future, Jenna Fox, 17, awakens from an 18-month-long coma following a devastating accident, her memory nearly blank. She attempts reorientation by watching videos of her childhood, "recorded beyond reason" by worshipful parents, but mysteries proliferate. Jenna can recite passages from Thoreau yet can't remember having any friends. As memories return, however, Jenna starts picking at the explanation her parents have spun until it unravels.

Review

The Adoration of Jenna Fox will definitley go into my top favorite books list! The voice of Jenna Fox is undeniably rich and thoughtful, sometimes hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking it will blow your world apart. The plot is breath taking and wonderful in it's own strange way, unlike any other novel i've ever read. It is simialar however, to books like Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, which studies an dystopian future where humans are striving to become invincible.

It's starts off on a mysterious and suspicious note as Jenna tries to remember vital parts of her life like best friends and family. You think it would be uplifting for someone to wake up from a year long coma but Jenna's gifted voice convinces you otherwise. Mary E. Pearson does a wonderful job of taking your mind on an unconsicience journey and you find yourself questioning things from what you eat to enviromental causes. You NEED to read this book!

Photobucket

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Want It Wednesday:)

Want It Wednesday!

Here are the books i would love to have!!!



Inside Out
by Maria V. Snyder

Plot

Keep Your Head Down. Don't Get Noticed. Or Else.



I'm Trella. I'm a scrub. One of thousands who work in the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I do my job and try to avoid the Pop Cops. The Trava family who rules our world from their spacious Upper levels wants us to be docile and obedient, like sheep. To insure we behave, they send the Pop Cops to police us.


So what if I occasionally use the pipes to sneak around the Upper levels? Not like it's all that dangerous--the only neck at risk is my own.


Until a lower level prophet claims a Gateway to Outside exists. And guess who he wants to steal into the Upper levels to get the proof? You’re right. Me. I alone know every single duct, pipe, corridor, shortcut, hole and ladder of Inside. It’s suicide plain and simple. But guess who can’t let a challenge like that go unanswered? Right again. Me.


I should have just said no...




By The Time You Read This, I'll Be Dead
by Julie Ann Peters

Plot

Dear



___mother


___father


___other


There was nothing you could do to stop me because:

___I’d already made up my mind


___I have been suffering my whole life


___ you were too slow to notice






I offed myself because:

___my life sucks


___the world sucks


___ you suck


Good-bye,


Daelyn





Photobucket

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Banned Books and A Giveaway!

Last week was Banned Books Week and coincidentally i myself had my own little run in with banned books! To make a long story short my school principle tried to censor a review i did for the school newspaper about Jennifer Brown's Hate List because it was supposedly on the districts banned books list! I know WTF! You can read the original post here. On a better note i want to thank all the people who commented on the post supporting me and the newspaper team! I really appreciate the encouraging comments and people like you guys are the ones who will really make the difference-

and coolest of all...
Jennifer Brown (yay!)

I think it's important to voice our opinions but at the same time be open-minded about books and life in general so a huge applause to you! As a cool thank you from Jennifer Brown, she actually offered me a signed copy of Hate List to give away to one of you guys!
 "Hi Christina, I read your blog this morning, and was so bummed on your behalf that your hard work was squelched by your principal. I'm sorry about that. Looks like we've both been censored together! LOL!!! Anyway, to say thank you for speaking out about my book being banned in your school, I would like to offer an autographed copy of HATE LIST up for you to give away on your blog." -Jennifer Brown
Cool Huh?

So...

Giveaway Time!!
I will be giving away one signed(!!) copy of Hate List for you to have as long as you do two of things!

You need to do this to be eligible!

1. You MUST be a follower to enter this giveaway! If you are not a follower you're entry will be ignored.
+1 for new followers
+2 for old followers
2. This ties into the whole banned books drama so you absolutely have to put something about banned books- whether it's something you experienced personally, heard about, your thoughts on banned books or just a favorite book of yours that has been banned or challenged in some way, tell me about it!
+1 entry for the comment

Of course you can do this stuff for extra entries!

+2 for each tweet you do about this contest/banned books or Hate List! (please add @yotina_38 to the tweet and a link to this contest)
+3 for posting about this contest on your sidebar! (please leave a link!)
+4 for dedicating a whole post to this contest! (again, please leave a link!)

and that's about it!

This contest will end October 30th at 11:59 PM! All entries after that will be ignored!
Update: This will be a U.S. only giveaway! Postage gets a little pricy these days!!! Sorry for the inconvenience!


Here's a little something about Hate List!



Plot
Five months ago, Valerie Leftman’s boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saves the life of a classmate, but is implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things they hated. The list her boyfriend used to pick his targets.

Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

You can find my review for Hate List here!

And you can also check out the playlist i made especially for Hate List here !

Photobucket

Swoon

Swoon

by Nina Malkin
Rating: Incredible!
Pages: 423
Publishing Date: May 2009 
Song Cry: Hang Me Up To Dry by Cold War Kids and Love, Hate, Love by Alice In Chains


Synopsis

SIN IS COMING...PREPARE TO SWOON


Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing even happens in Swoon, Connecticut...until Dice's perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree and her spirit interwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge and while Pen is obvious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She's intesely drawn to him—but not at all crazy abolut the havoc he's wreaking.

Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible—adversary before the whole town succumbs to Sin's will. Only trouble is, she's in love with him.

What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?



Review

*Sigh* What can i say about Swoon? Let's see... first of all Sinclair Youngblood Powers or better known as Sin :) One of the ultimate bad boys in literacy if you ask me! Up there with Patch from Hush, Hush and Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights! Actually he reminds me ALOT of Heathcliff with his determined plan for revenge and his way with the ladies. If you ever read Wuthering Heights you can see the uncanny resemblance, almost like the son's son of Heathcliff or something!

But the female lead of the novel is seriously lacking, i just couldn't relate even when i'd try to put myself in her shoes. Maybe it's the whole unbelievability of the situation or the crazy erotic things that Sinclair has the unknowing people of Swoon, Connetticut do! It's just plain weird. But she did have some redeeming qualites like her unwillingness to abide by the rules or her sarcastic voice. Thats one thing that really blew me away- Nina Malkin's ability to reach inside the teenage phsyce and go beyond what parents see. It was really amazing. And the writing was like nothing i experienced before too! So poetic and hypnotizing, i just couldn't put the book down! This is a great book for lovers of the bad boy genre a major must read!


Photobucket

Monday, October 5, 2009

Diary of a Witness



Diary of a Witness
by Catherine Ryan Hyde
Rating: Great!
Pages:208
*Publishing Date: August 2009
*Song Cry: Loser by Beck


Synopsis

One day, something’s going to snap. . . .


Ernie doesn't have a lot of friends at school. Just Will. They have stuff in common—like fishing. But more important, they have common enemies: the school jocks, who seem to find bullying just another sport.

For the most part, Ernie and Will take life at high school in stride. Until Will has one very bad day. Now nothing is remotely funny. Ernie finds himself a witness—to loss, to humiliation, and to Will’s anger—an anger that’s building each and every moment.

Ernie doesn’t want to believe his best friend is changing, but he can’t deny the truth. Soon he has a choice: join or die. Or can he find another way?



Review

Diary of a Witness is a terribly real, heartfelt novel about the persistance of two young boys just trying to make it through some horrible situations. Ernie is such a loveble, understandable character. I see kids like him everyday getting picked on and tormented. The way Catherine captures it is absolutely heartbreaking! Ugh! I can't even think about it to much! The thing about Ernie that i admire most though is his willingnes to like, look on the brightside. He always tries to rise above his circumstances, which seriously makes him better then the brutal joks that make fun of him.

Will is the tragic hero in this story, everything seems to go wrong for him and it really feels like he just can't catch a break! Eversecond of Diary of a Witness you find yourself grimacing at the poor kids terrible luck. Catherine must have gotten bullied when she was younger becuase you can't get as raw as this. Diary of a Witness is a serious literary break through, it captured the cut throat side of High School that i haven't seen since Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. You need to read this!


*P.S. You might've noticed that my review template is a little different, that's because after many months and many books reviewed i have finally exhausted my itunes library! These days it's hard to find good music that is relatable to a story and i can now usually only find about one to two for each review, so i decided to just feature one song (a song cry)  that i think best reflects each story! Also instead of putting how difficult a story is I decided to just feature the Pub. date since that seems alot more important. If you have any questions of suggestions please email me at flipthepageplease[at]gmail[dot]com! I'd love to hear your comments!


Photobucket

Sunday, October 4, 2009

In My Mailbox...(16)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi from The Story Siren!




Poison Study
by Maria V. Snyder

Plot
About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooma in the palace--and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.
And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly's Dust--and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can't control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren't so clear...





Her Fearful Symmetry
by Audrey Niffenegger

Plot
When Elspeth Noblin dies of cancer, she leaves her London apartment to her twin nieces, Julia and Valentina. These two American girls never met their English aunt; they only knew that their mother, too, was a twin, and Elspeth her sister. Julia and Valentina are semi-normal American teenagers -- with seemingly little interest in college, finding jobs, or anything outside their cozy home in the suburbs of Chicago, and with an abnormally intense attachment to one another.


The girls move to Elspeth's flat, which borders Highgate Cemetery. They come to know the building's other residents. There is Martin, a brilliant and charming crossword puzzle setter suffering from crippling obsessive-compulsive disorder; Marjike, Martin's devoted but trapped wife; and Robert, Elspeth's elusive former lover, a scholar of the cemetery. As the girls become embroiled in the fraying lives of their aunt's neighbors, they also discover that much is still alive in Highgate, including -- perhaps -- their aunt, who can't seem to leave her old apartment and life behind.



Almost Perfect
by Brian Katcher

Plot
Logan Witherspoon recently discovered that his girlfriend of three years cheated on him. But things start to look up when a new student breezes through the halls of his small-town high school. Sage Hendricks befriends Logan at a time when he no longer trusts or believes in people. Sage has been homeschooled for a number of years and her parents have forbidden her to date anyone, but she won’t tell Logan why. One day, Logan acts on his growing feelings for Sage. Moments later, he wishes he never had. Sage finally discloses her big secret: she’s actually a boy. Enraged, frightened, and feeling betrayed, Logan lashes out at Sage and disowns her. But once Logan comes to terms with what happened, he reaches out to Sage in an attempt to understand her situation. But Logan has no idea how rocky the road back to friendship will be.






Tina!
Related Posts with Thumbnails