Monday, November 23, 2009

In My Mailbox (21)

Unfortunately i got zero books this week and i owe a tremendous amount to my library! :( Im telling you life is pretty crazy for me right now!! lol

Photobucket

Writers Wednesday!

Again, sorry for the huge delay!!

This next tid bit is a pivitol point in the story. Roman rescues Demi from her idiot boyfriend and really, its the first time Demi realizes she needs him.


Chapter 6

Roman Belle

The overwhelming need to protect her pulled me towards the door. Everyone was staring at me now, urging me to go outside and see what was going on. The suspense was slowly starting to eat away at the entire group. Why should I care what happens to her though? All night she’s been giving me the cold shoulder, not even giving me a smile or one friendly glance. Aside from the conversation we had today, nothing’s changed. Yet, I can’t escape this nagging feeling of anger and the need to check up on her. I needed to do something because there’s nothing more I want right now then her safety, for her to be here in my arms. I pushed the chair in quickly and nearly sprinted to the door.

At the entrance, I closed my eyes in anticipation for what I was about to see and stepped outside slowly. The scene was gruesome and I’ve never before felt so mad, so intently furious as I did at that moment. Demi sat cowering in a ball on the concrete floor with a bloody nose; her hands covering her head in an effort to stop Jacob’s next blow. While I made this observation Jake turned my way and walked up to me slowly, I flinched at the strong and sickening smell of alcohol on his breath. He must have been swimming in it with how bad he smelt.

“You out here to play the hero?” He slurred and smiled.
“What the hell are you doing?!” I yelled at him as I shoved him out of my way and picked up Demi slowly. Her body was fragile and weak, with all the blood pouring from her nose and I quickly unbuttoned my shirt and pressed it against her face.

“No Roman!” She cried softly, trying meekly to protest. Jacob wobbled and made his way to me feebly trying to shove me as I shrugged him off and led Demi to my car.

“So you’re going with him then?!” He shouted furiously. “Go with him then you dumb slut!” He screamed over and over again. I looked down at Demi and could tell this hit her especially hard. Her low cries turned into loud sobs. Jake was long gone by the time we got to my car, having given up tormenting her for the rest of the night. I sighed heavily as I set Demi in the passenger seat and she slumped limply into place.

“Don’t take me home.” She cried.

“I won’t.” I assured her.



The next morning Demi wakes up and immedietly regrets giving in to Roman. However, Roman tries to convince Demi that she really does love him and just as Demi is about to change her mind, his brother walks in with some startling and conflicting news. Ahhh! I love this part! It's sad/funnyand heart wrenching!

Chapter 7

Demi Rowe

The morning was frosty cold. I could feel a slight breeze and I hugged myself tighter in the blankets. What’s this though? Cold foreign arms wrapped my naked body?! I froze stiff until I heard his voice,

“Good morning Love.” Roman purred.

“Umm good morning.” I replied shaky and unsure. This had to be the epitome of embarrassing, I launched myself up and scrambled for my clothes. My body ached and throbbed in places they never did before. Oh my God! Did I just have sex with Roman Belle?! I paused for about three seconds after I finished getting dressed, Roman was laying on the bed with his brow furrowed, baffled and confused.

“What are you doing?” He asked.

“Leaving.” I replied lifelessly.

“You can’t tell me you regret what happened last night?” He asked astonished.

“Yeah actually I can! Roman, you seduced me while I was hurt and vulnerable. Do you really think I was in the right state of mind at the time? Because I wasn’t! God, this is so totally wrong! I feel sick!” I grabbed my stomach feeling the dinner from last night resurfacing. I looked at Roman who was now clothed and pacing the length of the room nervously.

“You’re not pregnant are you?!” He asked panicked.

“God no!” I screeched, offended. Just then Joey walked in abruptly and gasped, he stared wide eyed for a long while and then let out a howl of laughter. He grabbed his stomach and tears rolled down his face.

“Did you… I can’t believe you...oh my...Alex!” He called for his brother who appeared at the door quickly and began chuckling at the scene. I covered my now crimson face and shivered in embarrassment. Joey reached to high five Roman who pushed his hand away roughly.

“Get out Joey!” He yelled ferociously. I looked up at his also red face and realized it was because of anger not humiliation. Joey and Alex backed away still laughing and closed the door.
“Demi I love you.” Roman whispered looking down at the floor now upset. I felt a tinge of guilt and my own brand of sadness tug at my heart strings.

“Im sorry Roman, I just don’t see you like that! I don’t know what came over me last night but that wasn’t truly me…” He walked up to me and interrupted my speech mid sentence by cupping my face in his hands and kissing me fervently.

“You love me…I know you do. Just please tell me you love me.” He said softly while resting his head against mine. I looked up at him feeling the same fire I felt last night before I stupidly attacked him. Did I really love him? Or was I just unwillingly stuck in this messed up situation? I knew the truth but achingly deprived myself of it. Just before I was about to give in Joey burst through the door unexpectedly. He looked away from our embrace and talked to the ground while holding out a phone.

“Demi it’s for you, its Evie.” I jumped towards him and grabbed the phone in a rush.

“E? Come pick me up!”

“Dems? There’s been an accident! Jacobs in the hospital, he’s really hurt!” My mouth dropped and the room started to spin. Just a minute ago I was about to confess my love for Roman Belle, now I’m faced with the haunting memory of Jacob Lewis. I felt the old quiver of worry I got when people called about him and questioned my thoughts completely. I couldn’t love Roman, at least not fully; I was still in love with Jacob. After everything he’s done to me I continue to stupidly love the wrong guy. What’s my problem?





Photobucket

Want It Wednesday!

Very late!!! I apologize but i am a senior and life is getting a bit hectic right now!!! lol




Spells
by Aprilynne Pike

Plot
Six months have passed since Laurel saved the gateway to the faerie realm of Avalon. Now she must spend her summer there, honing her skills as a Fall faerie. But her human family and friends are still in mortal danger--and the gateway to Avalon is more compromised than ever.


When it comes time to protect those she loves, will she depend on David, her human boyfriend, for help? Or will she turn to Tamani, the electrifying faerie with whom her connection is undeniable?







Mistwood
by Leah Cypress

Plot
Everyone tells Isabel that she is the Shifter – the ancient shape-shifting creature who has protected the kings of Samorna for centuries. They need her to be the Shifter. Prince Rokan risked everything when he rode into the Mistwood to summon her to his side; Ven, the magician's apprentice, has devoted his life to studying her legend; and even Princess Clarisse, who fears and hates her, depends on Isabel's powers to further her own plans.


But Isabel doesn't feel like the Shifter. She feels like a lonely human girl, beset by flashes of memory that do more to confuse than to help her. If she is the Shifter, why can't she change her shape? Why doesn't she remember what made her flee the castle so many years ago? As she is drawn deeper into a web of magic and assassination, Isabel will have no choice but to look for answers. But her search will lead her to the one question the Shifter hasn't faced in a thousand years: where does she come from, and what does she really want?


Photobucket

Monday, November 16, 2009

Review: The Tear Collector by Patrick Jones


The Tear Collector
By Patrick Jones
Published: September 2009
Pages: 272
Provided By: The Author
Characters: 12/20
Plot: 20/20
Cover: 15/20
End: 20/20
Writing: 10/20
Overall: 72/100
Song Cry: Tears Don't Fall by Bullet For My Valentine

Synopsis
Fans of urban fantasy should prepare for a new kind of vampire–one that feeds off of tears instead of blood. Descended from an ancient line of creatures that gain their energy from human tears, Cassandra Gray depends on human sorrow to live. Only Cass has grown tired of living this life and wants to live like a human, especially now that she's met someone worth fighting for.

Review
This new kind of vampire novel was strikingly original but a little neglected writing wise. I really wish Patrick Jones had gone deeper into the whole history of these "tear stealing" vampires! I was begging for more! I could thoroughly picture Cassandra too, she seemed like the badass type, the kind of girl who was really cold on the outside but soft and melty on the inside! Her character was very well thought out and interesting-not just your run of the mill vampire slash human wanna-be!

Scott though, i must say, kind of sucked. He was overly religous (which isn't a bad thing but im talking like that lady from the movie "The Mist" over-religous) and he was kind of boring. Like really boring, and he didn't sound hot what-so-ever. Another thing that really ticked me off, but maybe it was just me, was that some parts seemed really irrelevent to the story and i had no clue why it was in there! I need answers! lol

The villain of the novel Alexei was rather unknown for most of the book. There were a few hints here and there but it wasn't until about 3/4 of the way that we actually "met" him. He was very alluring and extremely annoying. Poor Cassandra couldn't get a break with that guy, it was all about "family duty" and the "good of our kind."

The ending really confused me but the last, like, two sentences made me want to know more. Though the novel was highly original, it only got a 75 because there were some parts that just straight up confused me. I would definitly give it a shot though and i honestly can't wait for any sequels that come out! Maybe it'll go into more detail and explain some of the confusion from the first book! I say try it!

Photobucket

Sunday, November 15, 2009

In My Mailbox (20)


The Silenced
by James DeVita

Plot
In a world filled with sanctions and restrictions, Marena struggles to remember the past: a time before the Zero Tolerance Party murdered her mother and put her father under house arrest. A time before they installed listening devices in every home and forbade citizens to read or write. A time when she was free. In the spirit of her revolutionary mother, Marena forms her own resistance group—the White Rose.


(This is actually an old ARC that i found at the Goodwill! What luck? And some random girl next to me said- "OMG that is such a good book!")





Beautiful
by Amy Reed

Plot
When Cassie moves from the tiny town where she has always lived to a suburb of Seattle, she is determined to leave her boring, good-girl existence behind. This is Cassie's chance to stop being invisible and become the kind of girl who's worth noticing.


Stepping into her new identity turns out to be easier than Cassie could have ever imagined...one moment, one choice, will change everything.

Cassie's new existence both thrills and terrifies her. Swept into a world of illicit parties and social landmines, she sheds her virginity, embraces the numbness she feels from the drugs, and floats through it all, knowing that she is now called beautiful. She ignores the dangers of her fast-paced life?but she can't sidestep the secrets and the cruelty.

Cassie is trapped in a swift downward spiral tinged with violence and abuse, and no one—not even the one person she thought she could trust—can help her now.

(I got 2(!) of these in the mail soooo i wil probably either a) give one away on my blog or b) use it for The Neverending Shelf's Secret Santa Book Swap!)


A Match Made in High School
by Kristin Walker

Plot
When the principal announces that every senior must participate in a mandatory year-long Marriage Education program, Fiona Sheehan believes that her life can't get any worse. That's until she marries her "husband": jerky jock Todd, whose cheerleader girlfriend, Amanda, has had it in for Fiona since day one of second grade. Even worse? Amanda is paired with Fiona's long-term crush, Gabe. At least Fiona is doing better than her best friend, Marcie, who is paired up with the very quiet, very dorky, very big Johnny Mercer.







Magic Under Glass
by Jaclyn Dolamore

Plot
Nimira is a foreign music-hall girl forced to dance for mere pennies. When wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to sing with a piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it is the start of a new and better life. In Parry's world, however, buried secrets are beginning to stir. Unsettling below-stairs rumors swirl about ghosts, a madwoman roaming the halls, and Parry's involvement with a league of sorcerers who torture fairies for sport. Then Nimira discovers the spirit of a fairy gentleman named Erris is trapped inside the clockwork automaton, waiting for someone to break his curse. The two fall into a love that seems hopeless, and breaking the curse becomes a race against time, as not just their love, but the fate of the entire magical world may be in peril.




The Mark
by Jen Nadol

Plot
Cassandra Renfield has always seen the mark—a glow around certain people reminiscent of candlelight. But the one time she mentioned it, it was dismissed as a trick of the light. Until the day she watches a man awash in the mark die. After searching her memories, Cassie realizes she can see a person’s imminent death. Not how or where, only when: today.


Armed with a vague understanding of the light, Cassie begins to explore her “gift,” seeking those marked for death and probing the line between decision and destiny. Though she’s careful to hide her secret—even from her new philosophy-obsessed boyfriend—with each impending death comes the temptation to test fate. But so many questions remain. How does the mark work? Why is she the only one who sees it? And finally, the most important of all: If you know today is someone’s last, should you tell them?




Dirty Little Secrets
by C.J. Omololu

Plot
Everyone has a secret. But Lucy’s is bigger and dirtier than most. It’s one she’s been hiding for years—that her mom’s out-of-control hoarding has turned their lives into a world of garbage and shame. She’s managed to keep her home life hidden from her best friend and her crush, knowing they’d be disgusted by the truth. So, when her mom dies suddenly in their home, Lucy hesitates to call 911 because revealing their way of life would make her future unbearable—and she begins her two-day plan to set her life right.With details that are as fascinating as they are disturbing, C. J. Omololu weaves an hour-by-hour account of Lucy’s desperate attempt at normalcy. Her fear and isolation are palpable as readers are pulled down a path from which there is no return, and the impact of hoarding on one teen’s life will have readers completely hooked.





Monstrumologist
by Rick Yancey

Plot
These are the secrets I have kept. This is the trust I never betrayed.



But he is dead now and has been for more than forty years, the one who gave me his trust, the one for whom I kept these secrets.


The one who saved me...and the one who cursed me.

So begins the journal of Will Henry, orphaned assistant to Dr. Pellinore War throp, a man with a most unusual specialty: monstrumology, the study of monsters. In his time with the doctor, Will has met many a mysterious late-night visitor, and seen things he never imagined were real. But when a grave robber comes calling in the middle of the night with a grueso me find, he brings with him their most deadly case yet.



Photobucket

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Want It Wednesdays:D



The Monstrumologist
by Rick Yancey

Plot
These are the secrets I have kept. This is the trust I never betrayed.

But he is dead now and has been for more than forty years, the one who gave me his trust, the one for whom I kept these secrets.
The one who saved me...and the one who cursed me.

So begins the journal of Will Henry, orphaned assistant to Dr. Pellinore War throp, a man with a most unusual specialty: monstrumology, the study of monsters. In his time with the doctor, Will has met many a mysterious late-night visitor, and seen things he never imagined were real. But when a grave robber comes calling in the middle of the night with a grueso me find, he brings with him their most deadly case yet.

(this is actually really weird because i just got this book from the delivery dude like a second ago! fate?)




The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May & June
by Robin Benway

Plot
Three sisters share a magical, unshakeable bond in this witty high-concept novel from the critically acclaimed author of Audrey, Wait! Around the time of their parents’ divorce, sisters April, May, and June recover special powers from childhood—powers that come in handy navigating the hell that is high school. Powers that help them cope with the hardest year of their lives. But could they have a greater purpose?


April, the oldest and a bit of a worrier, can see the future. Middle-child May can literally disappear. And baby June reads minds—everyone’s but her own. When April gets a vision of disaster, the girls come together to save the day and reconcile their strained family. They realize that no matter what happens, powers or no powers, they’ll always have each other.

Photobucket

Writers Wednesday!

I got this idea from Just Your Typical Book Blog and you can read their first post here.

For the next 2 weeks of NanoWriMo im going to post little clips of my novel- This Is Where You Are. It's more of a Sarah Dessen type of novel but I love it! I've been moving so fast with it, i'm over half way done! I even made a little cover for it!



(You Like?)

Here's a little summary-

The last thing Demi Rowe wants to do is fall in love with Roman Belle- rich, over-the-top and too flashy for the small town of Bones in which they live in. But after a series of unfortunate and heartbreaking events, Demi finds out that Roman is more then big houses and a Doctor's son. Through love, unexpected circumstances and unbearable tragedy, Demi learns what it takes to fall in love and the importance of family.

Roman Belle has been in love with Demi Rowe since he first laid eyes on her freshman year but his wealth and her abusive boyfriend keep them apart. After saving Demi from a potentially life threatening situation and showing her who he really is, not just the rich boy with a nice car, she learns to love him. Roman couldn't be happier and through everything they experience after that one fateful night they fall in love and take life in stride.

Does it sound a little cheesy? Well guess what! I dont care:) dont make fun! lol It's from two points of views, Roman's and Demi's, in case you're wondering why there two parts to the summary.

Here's my first snippet. Its actually the first paragraph in which i am deeply unconditionally in love with!

Chapter 1

Demi Rowe

He was sitting behind me on the first day of school, just sitting there like a stone statue staring at my back. I felt his eyes burning into me but tried not to grow irritated, I sighed heavily and kept my eyes on the whiteboard in front of me. Roman Belle-Did he know how stalker like he was? Or did he get a kick out of making me so uncomfortable? After a terribly long forty five minutes of this, the bell finally rang. I got up in a rush but my books fell unmercifully to my feet.

“Let me get those for you.” He whispered attentively.

“I got them.” I spat back, more then enough venom in my voice. His eyes widened and he bowed his head apologetically. Really, I didn’t even know why I hated him so damn much; it must be something about his fancy cars and designer clothes that rubbed me the wrong way. He lives in Bones, Michigan for Pete’s sake! There’s no one to impress here in this small town, no one except for me that is.


And here's another little piece from Roman:) He is the nice guy who always finishes last and i am currently in love with him!

Roman Belle

It’s not like I needed to give Demi more reasons to hate me…especially ratting out her abusive boyfriend. Sending him to jail would be about the millionth and two reason why she loathed every fiber of my being.

The funny thing is I don’t exactly know what the first million and one reasons are but ever since I can remember she has absolutely despised me. Yet, I still try to impress her every chance I get; I always wear the best clothes, drive in the fanciest cars, I even played match maker with my brothers and her sisters. What else can a man do to make a girl fall in love? I try to be polite and be more out going, even go to the stupid Christmas parties her dad hosts! I’d probably jump off a bridge for her…maybe that’s exactly what she wants me to do- jump off a bridge. Ever since my adoptive brothers and I moved to Bones freshman year, I always had an eye for her, not even noticing anyone else.

That didn’t seem to matter to her though, she avoided me like leprosy. The harder I fell, the less subtle she was about hating me. No matter how hard I try I just can’t get her to see my way, and it’s even worse now that Jacob’s here. They started going out last year and she looked almost relieved to have someone to protect her from me. The thing is, his protecting went way too far and anyone who paid close enough attention to her could see that that was no ordinary relationship. It didn’t take Autumn telling me to know something was up.


So what do you think? :)  You can visit my profile/add me as a buddy/ read another excerpt on the website here!


Photobucket

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Winner of the Hate List Giveaway!





I know i've been totally sucky at posting stuff lately but i promise i am getting back on track! Recently i had a giveaway for a signed copy of Hate List by Jennifer Brown, graciously sponsored by the author herself! The winner of the contest, whom i already emailed and got a reply from is...


Congragulations and thanks for entering my contest! Also, a big thanks to everyone who participated and didn't win! I appreciate your great opinions about banned books and their atrociousness! Look out for a new giveaway coming soon!


Photobucket

Review: The Everafter by Amy Huntley


The Everafter

By Amy Huntley
Published: September 2009
Pages: 256
Provided By: Publisher- Balzer + Bray of HarperCollins
Characters: 10/20
Plot: 15/20
Cover: 20/20
End: 15/20
Writing: 10/20
Overall: 70/100
Song Cry: “Love and Some Versus” by Iron and Wine and “So Small” by Carrie Underwood



Synopsis
Madison Stanton doesn't know where she is or how she got there. But she does know this - she is dead. And alone in a vast, dark space. The only company Maddy has in this place are luminescent objects that turn out to be all the things she lost while she was alive. And soon she discovers that, with these artifacts, she can reexperience - and even change - moments from her life.
Her first kiss.
A trip to Disney World.
Her sister's wedding.
A disastrous sleepover.
In reliving these moments, Maddy learns illuminating and frightening truths about her life - and death.

Review
I love books about the after life and that explore the theories of where you go after you die. The Everafter definitely delivered the same thought provoking circumstances and interesting topics that come with these great novels! It consisted of “diary entry” like chapters where the main character Madison looks back on her life using things she lost while she was alive. I never encountered such a concept when dealing with death but it was a really, awesomely interesting way to go. It really got the gears turning in my head and had me thinking about all the things I lost over the span of my life.

This whole book was one big mystery. You never knew what was happening or how Maddy got there. I liked the unknown element of it and it surprised me in many ways. By the time this book ended I was biting my nails ferociously, anxious about what was going to happen next and believe me you would’ve never suspected the ending! I cried a little at the end too (I’m such a loser!) because it was just a very heartbreaking but very good ending that gave you just a super great feeling inside! Read The Everafter! You won’t regret it!



Photobucket

Secret Santa Holiday Swap!



Kate over at The Neverending Shelf is hosting this awesome Secret Santa that i think everyone should participate in! It's open internationally where UK swappers will be paired with other UK swappers and Canadians with Canadians, etc. Sign-up ends November 15th so hurry up and register here! I have a ton of ARC's and other great books that i wouldn't mind parting with and i think its fun to interract with other book bloggers and join in the holiday fun so i'm really excited for the gift giving to begin!


Photobucket

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Review: The Pace by Shelena Shorts


The Pace
By Shelena Shorts
Published: August 2009
Pages: 316
Provided By: Author
Characters: 10/20
Plot: 15/20
Cover: 5/20
End: 5/20
Writing: 10/20
Overall: 45/100*
Song Cry: "Keep Me Warm" by Ida Maria and "From Yesterday" by 30 Seconds To Mars

Synopsis
Weston Wilson is not immortal and he is of this world. But, aging is not part of his existence, and eighteen-year-old Sophie Slone is determined to find out why. In doing so, she could also uncover something about her own life expectancy that she may not want to know. Suddenly, immortality will mean everything and nothing all at the same time.

Review
I didn’t hear a lot about this book before I read it so I was a bit apprehensive (but excited also) to read it. For some crazy reason, The Pace took me longer to read then I expected. I constantly needed to read things over to really comprehend what the book was saying. I’m no doctor so gator blood, hemophiliacs and blood transfusions were way over my head. This didn’t prevent me from enjoying the book though. If you love books that feature characters that are reincarnated in different time periods, I think you’ll really love The Pace.

Sophie was definitely an interesting character, but I found her a little tiny bit ordinary. She was the all around girl next door, if the girl next door was an extreme introvert! Really though she was highly identifiable and really relatable. Weston was absolutely charming. He seemed to grab your attention from the get go and really captured my sympathy. I loved his story including the way he became what he is and Sophie’s role in all of that.

The whole plot was amazing! I found it was really original and enthralled me completely. I think Shelena Shorts is an author that everyone should give a chance and I am eagerly awaiting the next novel in this series!


*As a side note, i'd just like to say that the new rating system is not perfected and i'm just trying it out for right now. I wouldn't take the "overall score" to seriously right now and instead look at the individual ratings instead!


Photobucket

Want It Wednesday:)

So i am officially back and in action and i have a couple of awesome reviews coming up...not to mention some very awesome giveaways! Wooohoo! These are some of the books i am dying to have!




Linger
by Maggie Stiefvater

So there's no "official" synopsis for this yet but Maggie did release the first chapter recently! SPOILER ALERT! If you haven't read Shiver yet, do not read this next paragraph!

• grace •


This is the story of a boy who used to be a wolf and a girl who was becoming one.
Just a few months ago, it was Sam who was the mythical creature. His was the disease we couldn’t cure. His was the good-bye that meant the most. He had the body that was a mystery, too strange and wonderful and terrifying to comprehend.
But now it is spring. With the heat, the remaining wolves will soon be falling out of their wolf pelts and back into their human bodies. Sam stays Sam, and Cole stays Cole, and it’s only me who’s not firmly in my own skin.





Claire De Lune
by Christine Johnson

Plot
A teenager learns that she is a werewolf, descended from a long line of female werewolves, and must balance her human and werewolf lives, while tracking down the rogue werewolf preying upon the people of her town.




Photobucket

Saturday, October 31, 2009

In My Mailbox...(19) Back in Action!

YAY!!!! I am officially ungrounded as of 8 o'clock yesterday morning! It was two brutal and agonizing weeks and now its over forever! I know i have been unmercifully neglecting my little blog but have no fear! The only thing that i was really allowed to do while being grounded was read so thankfully i got like a million books done on my TBR pile! I have a lot of crazy good book reviews coming up so stay tuned!


Here are the books i got in the mail this week! I'm trying a new approach to In My Mailbox because the other way was definitly a bit strenous to say the least. So here it goes!


Here's a little about the books, moving clockwise!

The Sky Is Everywhere
by Jandy Nelson

Plot
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

(I've been looking everywhere for this book because i'm really excited to read it, so when i finally found it i was super relieved! It got to my house super duper fast!)

Never After
by Dan Elconin

Plot
Leaving everything behind for the Island was Ricky's dream come true. When his happily ever after is not quite what it seems, he discovers that running away means running toward bigger problems.


Trapped on the Island, Ricky must join together with the only people he can trust to help him face his fears and return home. But the only way off the Island is to confront the person who trapped Ricky and his friends in the first place. With countless enemies and true peril staring them down, Ricky's mission to leave this so-called paradise will become a battle for their very lives.

(I barely realized that this was a super twist on Peter Pan! So now i'm like double excited to read it! And the author is only 19 which is really admirable to!)

Touched by a Vampire
by Beth Felker Jones

Plot
People around the world are asking the same question, enraptured with Edward and Bella’s forbidden romance in the Twilight Saga, a four-book serial phenomenon written by Stephenie Meyer. The bestsellers tell the story of a regular girl’s relationship with a vampire who has chosen to follow his “good” side. But the Saga isn’t just another fantasy–it’s teaching girls about love, sex, and purpose. With 48 million copies in print and a succession of upcoming blockbuster films, now is the time to ask the important question: Can vampires teach us about God’s plan for love?
Touched by a Vampire is the first book to investigate the themes of the Twilight Saga from a Biblical perspective. Some Christian readers have praised moral principles illustrated in the story, such as premarital sexual abstinence, which align with Meyer’s Mormon beliefs. But ultimately, Beth Felker Jones examines whether the story’s redemptive qualities outshine its darkness.

Cautionary, thoughtful, and challenging, Touched by a Vampire is written for Twilight fans, parents, teachers, and pop culture enthusiasts. It includes an overview of the series for those unfamiliar with the storyline and a discussion guide for small groups.

(I won this from First Reads on Goodreads and i've been reading little tid bits here and there, it's really interesting and it's basically looking at the whole Twilight Saga from a more biblical perspective! Its really cool and gives you a lot to think about!)

Secret Society
by Tom Dolby

Plot
An eccentric new girl. A brooding socialite. The scion of one of New York's wealthiest families. A promising filmmaker. As students at the exclusive Chadwick School, Phoebe, Lauren, Nick, and Patch already live in a world most teenagers only dream about.
They didn't ask to be Society members. But when three of them receive a mysterious text message promising success and fame beyond belief, they say yes to everything—even to the harrowing initiation ceremony in a gritty warehouse downtown and to the ankh-shaped tattoo they're forced to get on the nape of their necks. Once they're part of the Society, things begin falling into place for them. Week after week, their ambitions are fulfilled. It's all perfect—until a body is found in Central Park with no distinguishing marks except for an ankh-shaped tattoo.


(I already have a hardcover copy of this book so i might, possibly, definitly, maybe be giving this away soon! Confused? lol)

Front and Center
by Catherine Murdock

Plot
After five months of sheer absolute craziness I was going back to being plain old background D.J. In photographs of course I'm always in the background...


But it turns out other folks have big plans for D.J. Like her coach. College scouts. All the town hoops fans. A certain Red Bend High School junior who's keen for romance and karaoke. Not to mention Brian Nelson, who she should not be thinking about! Who she is done with, thank you very much. But who keeps showing up anyway...


(I haven't read the first two books in this series but im definitly looking forward to it!)

The View from the Top
by Hillary Frank

Plot
It's basically a story from five different points of view that are all connected together by another character Annabelle! Its really late right now and im not up to typing out the whole descreption myself but i will type it up once i read and review it which will be soon!

(I've heard absolutely nothing about this book but as soon as i got it i was super excited to read it! But it looks super cool...)





Photobucket

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Hate List Contest!!!!! Ends October 30th!

I know last week i said there's only one week left but oops! i had a little typo! :) Forgive me? This time i am for real! One week ladies and gentleman!!! Oh and P.S. my computer IS working now but being that i am still a teenager and my parents are in fact out to get me i am grounded UFN- until further notice! I am actually sneaking behind my parents back (they are at a baby shower!) to post this and my IMM!! Anywho...enter the contest please unless you don't want an autographed copy of Hate List by Jennifer Brown(which i know is not true!)!
Photobucket

In My Mailbox...(18)

I got a bunch of awesome books this week! If reviews are soming a little slow im really, really sorry! My TBR pile is just stacking up on me and im doing my best to read as fast and much as i can!!! So here we go...




Fallen
by Lauren Kate

Plot
There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.


Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce--and goes out of his way to make that very clear--she can't let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.




A Map of The Known World
by Lisa Ann Sandell

Plot
Cora Bradley dreams of escape. Ever since her reckless older brother, Nate, died in a car crash, Cora has felt suffocated by her small town and high school. She seeks solace in drawing beautiful maps, envisioning herself in exotic locales. When Cora begins to fall for Damian, the handsome, brooding boy who was in the car with Nate the night he died, she uncovers her brother's secret artistic life and realizes she had more in common with him than she ever imagined. With stunning lyricism, Sandell weaves a tale of one girl's journey through the redemptive powers of art, friendship, and love.


They say no land remains to be discovered, no continent is left unexplored. But the whole world is out there, waiting, just waiting for me. I want to do things-I want to walk the rain-soaked streets of London, and drink mint tea in Casablanca. I want to wander the wastelands of the Gobi desert and see a yak. I think my life's ambition is to see a yak. I want to bargain for trinkets in an Arab market in some distant, dusty land. There's so much. But, most of all, I want to do things that will mean something.






Song of the Sparrow
by Lisa Ann Sandell

Plot
Since the days of King Arthur, there have been poems and paintings created in her name. She is Elaine of Ascolat, the Lady of Shalott, and now there is a book all her own. The year is 490 A.D. and 16-year-old Elaine has a temperament to match her fiery red hair. Living on a military base with her father, brothers, and the rest of Arthur's army, Elaine pines for the handsome Lancelot, and longs for a female friend. But when the cruel, beautiful Gwynivere arrives, Elaine is confronted with startling emotions of jealousy and rivalry. Can Elaine find the strength to survive the birth of a kingdom?









Boys, Girls and Other Hazardous Material
by Rosalind Wiseman

Plot
Looking for a new beginning after a terrible mean girl past, Charlie Healey realizes there's no escaping high school drama.


Charlie Healey thinks Harmony Falls is the beginning of a whole new life. Middle school was brutal. But high school is Charlie's big chance to start over and stay out of drama, except that on her first day she runs into Will, her ex–best friend, who had moved away. Now a varsity athlete and hotter than Charlie remembered, Will hangs with the crowd running the school. But Charlie doesn't understand their power until an innocent delivery guy falls victim to a near-deadly hazing prank.

Torn between doing what's right and her secret feelings for Will, Charlie must decide whether to turn in her very best friend or live with the guilt of knowing what he did.




The Expessologist
by Kristina Springer

Plot
What’s your drink of choice? Is it a small pumpkin spice latte? Then you’re lots of fun and a bit sassy. Or a medium americano? You prefer simplicity in life. Or perhaps it’s a small decaf soy sugar-free hazelnut caffe latte? Some might call you a yuppie. Seventeen-year-old barista Jane Turner has this theory that you can tell a lot about a person by their regular coffee drink. She scribbles it all down in a notebook and calls it Espressology. So it’s not a totally crazy idea when Jane starts hooking up some of her friends based on their coffee orders. Like her best friend, Em, a medium hot chocolate, and Cam, a toffee nut latte. But when her boss, Derek, gets wind of Jane’s Espressology, he makes it an in-store holiday promotion, promising customers their perfect matches for the price of their favorite coffee. Things are going better than Derek could ever have hoped, so why is Jane so freaked out? Does it have anything to do with Em dating Cam? She’s the one who set them up! She should be happy for them, right?





The Secret Year
by Jennifer Hubbard

Plot
Take Romeo and Juliet. Add The Outsiders. Mix thoroughly.


Colt and Julia were secretly together for an entire year, and no one—not even Julia's boyfriend— knew. They had nothing in common, with Julia in her country club world on Black Mountain and Colt from down on the flats, but it never mattered. Until Julia dies in a car accident, and Colt learns the price of secrecy. He can't mourn Julia openly, and he's tormented that he might have played a part in her death. When Julia's journal ends up in his hands, Colt relives their year together at the same time that he's desperately trying to forget her. But how do you get over someone who was never yours in the first place?





Night Runner (won from Kristi at The Story Siren! Thanks a bunch!! )
by Max Turner

Plot
For Zack Thomson, living in the Nicholls Ward isn't so bad. After his parents died, he developed strange and severe allergies, and the mental institution was the only place where he could be properly looked after. As strange as it was, it was home. He could watch as much television as he wanted; his best friend Charlie visited him often enough; and Nurse Ophelia--the prettiest no-nonsense nurse ever--sometimes took him bowling. Of course, that didn't mean he had it easy. His allergies restricted his diet to strawberry smoothies, and being the only kid at the hospital could get lonely. But it never once crossed Zack's mind to leave...until the night someone crashed through the front doors and told him to run. Now he's on a race for answers--about his past, his parents, and his strange sickness--even as every step takes him closer to the darkest of truths.




Embellish
by R.L. Sloan

Plot
As a young girl, Solis Burkes is raped at the hands of ruthless school bullies-an incident that haunts her into young adulthood. Then she meets Nacio, a strikingly handsome man who seems to know everything about her-including the painful past Solis hasn't told anyone about. But what Solis doesn't know is that Nacio has been with her every step of the way, protecting her ever since that fateful episode.


It's a destiny he's been working up to for the last 257 years.
Now, as Solis enters a dark world of vampires, voodoo, and passion, she'll need all the protection she can get. Unbeknownst to her, those responsible for Solis's rape have returned. Connected to the evil voodoo Priestess Aldicia, they'll stop at nothing in their plans to spew violence and mayhem throughout the city. And an old family feud dating back centuries puts Solis first on their list of targets. But not if Solis can unravel the clues fast enough, and inflict her own brand of revenge...



The Heretic Queen
by Michelle Moran

Plot
In ancient Egypt, a forgotten princess must overcome her family’s past and remake history.


The winds of change are blowing through Thebes. A devastating palace fire has killed the Eighteenth Dynasty’s royal family–with the exception of Nefertari, the niece of the reviled former queen, Nefertiti. The girl’s deceased family has been branded as heretical, and no one in Egypt will speak their names. Nefertari is pushed aside, an unimportant princess left to run wild in the palace. But this changes when she is taken under the wing of the Pharaoh’s aunt, then brought to the Temple of Hathor, where she is educated in a manner befitting a future queen.

Soon Nefertari catches the eye of the Crown Prince, and despite her family’s history, they fall in love and wish to marry. Yet all of Egypt opposes this union between the rising star of a new dynasty and the fading star of an old, heretical one. While political adversity sets the country on edge, Nefertari becomes the wife of Ramesses the Great. Destined to be the most powerful Pharaoh in Egypt, he is also the man who must confront the most famous exodus in history.




Bleeding Violet
by Dia Reeves

Plot
Love can be a dangerous thing....


Hanna simply wants to be loved. With a head plagued by hallucinations, a medicine cabinet full of pills, and a closet stuffed with frilly, violet dresses, Hanna's tired of being the outcast, the weird girl, the freak. So she runs away to Portero, Texas in search of a new home.

But Portero is a stranger town than Hanna expects. As she tries to make a place for herself, she discovers dark secrets that would terrify any normal soul. Good thing for Hanna, she's far from normal. As this crazy girl meets an even crazier town, only two things are certain: Anything can happen and no one is safe...


Photobucket

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Want It Wednesday!

My computer is so totally broke right now that i'm afraid getting reviews done might seem incredibly imposssible! But i will try to get my memes out during school and i will also try to get at least one review done every week! Sorry for the inconveniece!




Incarceron

by Catherine Fisher

Plot
Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a seventeen-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. Very few prisoners believe that there is an Outside, however, which makes escape seems impossible.


And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl named Claudia. She claims to live Outside—she is the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, and doomed to an arranged marriage. Finn is determined to escape the prison and Claudia believes she can help him. But they don't realize that there is more to Incarceron than meets the eye, and escape will take their greatest courage and cost more than they know. Because Incarceron is alive.




The Dark Divine

Bree Despain

Plot
Grace Divine, daughter of the local pastor, always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappeared—the night she found her brother Jude collapsed on the porch, covered in blood. But she has no idea what a truly monstrous secret that night really held. And when Daniel returns three years later, Grace can no longer deny her attraction to him, despite promising Jude she’ll stay away.


As Grace gets closer to Daniel, her actions stir the ancient evil Daniel unleashed that horrific night. Grace must discover the truth behind Jude and Daniel's dark secret . . . and the cure that can save the ones she loves. But she may have to lay down the ultimate sacrifice to do it—her soul.







Photobucket

Friday, October 16, 2009

One Week Left to Win a Signed Copy of Hate List!

Yup! That's right! There is only on week left to win an autographed copy of Hate List by Jennifer Brown! Click the link on the upper left hand corner of my blog and enter to win!! Hurry!

Photobucket

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Want It Wednesdays:)

Okay so it's something old and something new! Both of these books look really amazing! Watcha think??



Shadow Hills
by Anastasia Hopcus

Plot
Since her sister’s mysterious death, Persephone “Phe” Archer has been plagued by a series of disturbing dreams. Determined to find out what happened to her sister, Phe enrolls at Devenish Prep in Shadow Hills, Massachusetts—the subject of her sister’s final diary entry.



After stepping on campus, Phe immediately realizes that there’s something different about this place—an unexplained epidemic that decimated the town in the 1700s, an ancient and creepy cemetery, and gorgeous boy Zach—and somehow she’s connected to it all.


But the more questions she asks and the deeper she digs, the more entangled Phe becomes in the haunting past of Shadow Hills. Finding what links her to this town…might cost her her life.





Audrey, Wait!
by Robin Benway

Plot
When funny, charming, absolutely-normal Audrey Cuttler dumps her boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that becomes a number-one hit—and rockets Audrey to stardom!



Suddenly, tabloid paparazzi are on her tail and Audrey can barely hang with her friends at concerts or the movies without getting mobbed—let alone score a date with James, her adorable coworker at the Scooper Dooper. Her life will never be the same—at least, not until Audrey confronts Evan live on MTV and lets the world know exactly who she is!





Photobucket
Related Posts with Thumbnails